User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Two Questions... Fullscreen Shader

  1. #1
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,981
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Two Questions... Fullscreen Shader

    I've worked with shaders in the past on 3D engines, but when it comes to MMF2 Dev I've never had the chance to even revise anything let alone try anything.

    Some of my games are being developed at 480x320, the sprites and graphics are drawn at a costly but nice resolution of 150dpi, however some of the graphics look quite 'edgy' and 'blocky' in fullscreen.

    So my question is, is there a fullscreen shader to apply a 'blur' effect or more importantly a 'Gaussian Blur' to the whole screen (which should in turn curve off those nasty edges)

    My second question is, can a shader like this be applicable per layer?

    I've not had chance at all to revise any of the HWA stuff yet, but it would be a good footing if I could get these questions answered to see if this is a good route to go down to achieve a much deeper effect.

    Danny :cool:
    Want to learn Clickteam Fusion 2.5?




  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    UltimateWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Two Questions... Fullscreen Shader

    What's the point of using a low resolution if you don't like the way pixels look? Anyway one option would be to go into the application properties, check "Resize display to fill window size" and then "Anti-aliasing while resizing."

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,981
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Re: Two Questions... Fullscreen Shader

    iOS/Android rescaling?

    I already knew about the Anti-Aliasing, however, I wanted to know if a full screen shader could be implemented per layer, rather than per screen.
    Want to learn Clickteam Fusion 2.5?




  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry to bump an old post, but after much searching I couldn't find anything else on this topic. I have just about gotten the hang of applying shaders to objects now, but would love to be able to set a shader that covers everything displayed on the screen. Specifically, I'm looking for a good way of doing faux-scanlines and my current cludge of a large transparent active object running on the top layer is both ugly and inefficient.

    I'm not that fussed about it being exporter-independent; I know the HLSL shaders are only supported on the Window exporter at present.

    On a related note, any word on whether 3.0 will stick with HLSL shaders or if it'll change to GLSL? Would be amazing to be able to run some of the Shadertoy.com shaders on our apps!

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    piscesdreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    911
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not near my PC at the moment to verify the shader name (maybe it was just scan lines) but there is in fact a scan line shader that you can apply to an entire layer or the entire frame.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can write a scanline shader myself (in fact, I'd actually prefer my own, to sort out other things like sub-pixel colour bleed, etc.)

    I suppose what I'm asking for help with is "how do I apply a single shader to a whole frame?"

    I'm sure it's painfully obvious when you know, but after weeks of looking, I'm still scratching my head.

    For clarity, I know how to apply shaders to individual objects, backdrops, etc., but not *everything* in the frame with one shader.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    piscesdreams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    911
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Click on the frame in the main application tree, view properties and add the shader as you would with any active.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perfect! works great, thanks a lot for helping with this, I'd been pulling my hair out for weeks.

Similar Threads

  1. Tilemap Pixel Shader (aka "texture atlas" shader)
    By MuddyMole in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th May 2013, 08:21 PM
  2. Fullscreen
    By King_Cool in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th June 2012, 12:52 AM
  3. Fullscreen example
    By happygreenfrog in forum File Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th April 2012, 04:23 PM
  4. Fullscreen and HWA ?
    By Romain in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th September 2011, 12:24 PM
  5. Fullscreen bug
    By Nifflas in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th April 2007, 01:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •