User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    I noticed when I used the pause/resume sounds function in MMF2, it worked correctly for the exe and ccn exports. However, when I exported it to flash SWF fomat, the sound/music paused started back from the very beginning instead of resuming from the middle. Is this a glitch, or is this another one of the limitations of flash?

    If it makes a difference, I use .ogg format for music, and not old MID files. But I don't think that's the case.

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Re: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    It is a limitation of Flash : there is no pause sample, just a stop

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)Firefly 3D Module (Steam)
    Phi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,896
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    To work around it, store the sample position, then stop the sample.
    Then to resume use play sample then set position of sample.

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,307
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    I was told in a different thread that this problem has been corrected in Flash. MMF just needs to catch up to the fix.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,308
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    Quote Originally Posted by mobichan
    I was told in a different thread that this problem has been corrected in Flash. MMF just needs to catch up to the fix.
    Which one? The new Flash 11, or a version before that, but after the flash runtime MMF2 has?

    Quote Originally Posted by SortaCore
    To work around it, store the sample position, then stop the sample.
    Then to resume use play sample then set position of sample.
    I tried this workaround. Flash unfortunately still plays the sound/music from the beginning. Unless I'm coding the position wrong. Maybe you can show me the solution or give me example? :-/

  6. #6
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,307
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Sounds Don't Pause/Resume properly in SWF format.

    I was referring to this post and Olivier's response: http://www.clickteam.com/epicenter/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=246755&page=1

    Unless I am misunderstanding what he said, there was a bug in Flash that was corrected after the MMF exporter came out. I was under the impression that MMF just needs to tap into that bug fix.

Similar Threads

  1. "Resume all sounds" doesn't resume, it restarts
    By JoKa in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2012, 12:56 PM
  2. Pause and Resume
    By Captain_Harris in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th October 2011, 11:55 AM
  3. Simple Pause/Resume Example
    By AyreGuitar in forum iOS Specific Example Files
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd August 2011, 03:14 PM
  4. Pause - Resume ?
    By arsdigita in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th July 2011, 04:53 PM
  5. RC #1 - Bug - Sounds + App Resume + Question
    By BHGames in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 7th June 2011, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •