User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Speed in game and FPS?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Speed in game and FPS?

    I am currently making a platformer for mainly Flash. On the second level I have some water rising with an event of "Always - set Y position of Water to Y position of Water -2"

    I have got some complains about it raising to fast though, and first I thought that it was just me being so good at my own game, but now I am thinking it may have to do with different computer and FPS speed?

    Will the water be raising to fast or slow on some computer VS others, if the fps is different or how does this work?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could do something instead of always adding position to the water.

    Maybe use "every 00'50 second"

    Or you could do

    - Always: Add 1 to Alt. Value A [Water]
    then
    - Alt. Value A [Water] >= 5: Add -2 to Pos Y [Water] + Set Value A [Water] to 0.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah so this would be better then always event?

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make an Alterable Value for the Water, call it MoveY_ or somthing else that suits you

    Always ---> add 'X' to value MoveY_
    MoveY_ greater or equal '1' ---> Water set Ypos to Ypos +/- 1

    Make X a decimal number lower or equal to 1 ( The lower the number the slower the water will rise/ sink )
    ---
    I dont think you can directly alter ingame speed or FPS in MMF2

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    N64Mario's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by King_Cool View Post
    I dont think you can directly alter ingame speed or FPS in MMF2
    Actually, you can change the FPS rate in MMF2. It just that in-game won't work in something like in SWF.

    In the events, Insert type of Condition: Storyboard Controls -> Set Frame Rate -> Set the # value.


    For out of game, you can change the Frame Rate in the application's properties window (The little [>] icon - Runtime options).

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by N64Mario View Post
    Actually, you can change the FPS rate in MMF2. It just that in-game won't work in something like in SWF.

    In the events, Insert type of Condition: Storyboard Controls -> Set Frame Rate -> Set the # value.


    For out of game, you can change the Frame Rate in the application's properties window (The little [>] icon - Runtime options).
    Is this recommended to do in the SWF?

    Also I am still suspecting that the water rising is going at different speed on different computers because different people give me feedback that its either very to easy or almost impossible. It should be a easy level and so i think the problem is caused in a slow computer when water rises as fast as on a high performence machine but the character moves slower maybe? Could it have something to do with me using the Platform Movement Object?

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is not possible to change the framerate in Flash. The framerate you set in the application properties is the framerate for the duration of the SWF.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  8. #8
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a similar issue.

    Im using the timer object to control a simple ball physics engine. Every '00:01', the X and Y velocities of the ball are added to positions. I was expecting the framerate setting of the game to NOT affect the movement speed of the ball, and only affect the smoothness of the motion....

    Nonetheless, the actual motion of the ball is affected by the framerate. Why is this so?

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Outcast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,156
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am not sure about this, but try to turn on "timer based movements" in the frames runtime options.

  10. #10
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Timer based movements only works for the inbuilt movements.

    The issue with using the Every condition is that it can run at most one time per frame, but it can also run during its delay period to 'catch up'. So if the game slows down, so will it, but if the game goes to 200 fps then it will quickly trigger as many times as it needs to catch up again, but still once per frame at most.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

Similar Threads

  1. How to increase animation speed in game
    By MonDieu72 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th December 2013, 02:43 AM
  2. How do I change the overall speed of my game?
    By SergioAndre in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th July 2013, 08:22 AM
  3. Ways to Speed Up Game?
    By Corlen in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th July 2013, 01:16 AM
  4. Vsync and game speed
    By netninja in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th December 2010, 09:56 AM
  5. Game speed different on various sites
    By JoKa in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 21st April 2010, 10:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •