User Tag List

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: How the #@#$! do I see allocations and live bytes in xcode 4.2??

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    jregork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How the #@#$! do I see allocations and live bytes in xcode 4.2??

    At first I was testing my game on the computer only. Going fine with whatever version of xcode I had downloaded (3 something). But then to get my game running on my ios5 device, I had to upgrade to xcode 4.2. The "Run with Performance tool" option has vanished. I opened up 'instruments' separately, but I can't seem to get any sort of live read of what's going on. I can't find any logical information about it in xcode's help, and my searches haven't turned up anything.

    I went from one game with this engine to another, and this one's running much slower. I'm just trying to get an idea of what the problem is.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    jregork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok. They've moved it but apparently didn't change the help. It's now under Product - Profiles. Then a popup menu appears.

    But now I have an all new problem. This game is using around 9mb - 10mb. The other used about 8.5mb. And yet this ran much slower.

    Except!: When I first selected product-profiles, I didn't see the popup, and I still had my actual ipod selected as the device. The game started running, almost at full speed. I then tried again while using the allocations tool. Slow as before. Back the other way. . . faster! What the hell?!

    I then tested using the simulated device. I tried a simulated iphone with ios5. It froze up. Then I tried with the default 4.2. It started off extremely slow. Taking 20 seconds or so to respond to my first click. But it gradually sped up and began running at full speed. All while my live bytes were telling me I was using around 9mb.

    As of now the game is running almost 100% full speed. I'm wondering how much of that has to do with the 'output' method, due to my recent experience. What exactly is the difference between 'run for testing' and 'run for running' and those sorts of options? And has anyone experienced a sort of 'warm up' period? Where the game runs very slowly but after running it a few times it picks up?

Similar Threads

  1. How biggest (in bytes) can be a frame???
    By Zombie in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2nd November 2009, 08:04 AM
  2. How to know the number of Bytes being sent?
    By Dynamite in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th July 2009, 09:15 AM
  3. Live receiver, please Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    By Virtual in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 28th April 2008, 04:47 PM
  4. Moo....Bytes?
    By Dynamite in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th December 2007, 05:41 PM
  5. [Binary Object] Signed bytes = Big problem
    By Nifflas in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd December 2006, 12:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •