User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: custom fonts?

  1. #11
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Anders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denmark, Århus
    Posts
    3,455
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cfullerNY View Post
    is there any reason NOT to do this?
    It takes time to copy to the Mac - that is all.

    We supply the three builds modes for convenience:


    Final Export:
    Removes all unnecessary files from the build so that your game becomes small in size on the disk (useful for when you want to submit your game)

    Full Export:
    Use this when debugging and testing your game. It includes all extensions supported by iOS so that if you later include new extensions it will already have them.
    Using this export mode is really good to use with the .CCI file export mode.

    .CCI file Export:
    The 'core' of your game. All your events, sprites, embedded data files and sounds are included there.
    You typically use this with the Full Export option as you can simply add whatever new resources to your game and you don't have to export the xcode project again. The .cci file is faster to transfer to your Mac and easy to copy into your game folder from there. You can also use this for your final export, just be sure you don't use any new extensions since the last 'final' export.

  2. #12
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,281
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does this approach require you to embed the font you want to use as Binary Data? Or is simply having a string object in your project that references the font enough?

  3. #13
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,281
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I finally got it to work. Just to clarify, you need to name your font file in the Resources EXACTLY the same as the actual font file on your hard drive. It seems to be case sensitive as well.

  4. #14
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModulePatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)
    Renatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    São Paulo, SP - Brasil
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith View Post
    Okay, first of all you can do this but the first thing you need to realize is that you must have a license for the font. If it's a font in the public domain be darn sure as fonts are protected IP. Dafont.com is a great site to find fonts where you can use them commericially without licensing, but not all fonts there are under those terms. Free for personal use does not apply to you when you are distributing apps.

    Here are the steps:

    1. Use the custom TrueType Font as you normally would within your Windows environment
    2. Build your project to export to iOS
    3. On the Mac, add the TTF file into your Resources directory like you would any other resource with Copy selected
    4. Open your app's AppName-Info.plist file in the Resources directory
    5. Add a Rownamed UIAppFonts of type Array (it should default to this)
    6. This will now show up as Fonts provided by application
    7. Enter the full filename of your font e.g. SomeFont_Bold.ttf
    8. Build and run ... you should be golden

    Lastly, I want to stress that you do not want to use any fonts unless you can demonstrate the provenience of them legally.

    Sorry to dig out this old post, but I am being unable to use custom fonts using the latest beta. One thing I did not understand in these instructions is item 3, "with Copy selected". Is this some type of permission or something we must have with the file? I simply copied it to the resources folder.

  5. #15
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Beverly Hills, CA USA
    Posts
    506
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just copying it to the folder in the Finder is not enough. You need to drag and drop it from the Finder into the Resources folder of your XCode project for it to work.

  6. #16
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModulePatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)
    Renatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    São Paulo, SP - Brasil
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh Thank you Keith! Now I understand and it works

  7. #17
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just wondering, has anyone else had trouble doing this with the latest beta? I've managed to do it in the past but not with the current beta 2 build 254

  8. #18
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModulePatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)
    Renatos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    São Paulo, SP - Brasil
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not really, it works fine for me...

  9. #19
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Anders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denmark, Århus
    Posts
    3,455
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Remember that Unix environments are always case-sensitive when it comes to filenames (iOS is no exception). "Arial" isn't the same as "arial"

  10. #20
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've tried and tried again with no success. I can't think of anything I did wrong; it did work before.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. custom fonts
    By Almightyzentaco in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th July 2013, 04:55 PM
  2. Custom Fonts
    By DistantJ in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 27th March 2013, 03:57 AM
  3. Custom iOS fonts?
    By XStar in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th December 2012, 10:47 AM
  4. Custom fonts
    By DistantJ in forum XNA Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th July 2012, 09:07 AM
  5. Custom made Fonts?
    By Atherton in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th December 2010, 11:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •