User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Game Crash?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,852
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Game Crash?

    Does anyone know why a game I'm working on would crash in Direct3D 9 display mode and not crash in Standard display mode? Are there extensions that I can't use in Direct3D 9. It's really strange, because it only crashes in frame 3 and everything in frame 3 is the same as the other frames except for scrolling in the frame that crashes. BUT if I run the game in Standard mode,.it's fine and doesn't crash!

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make a backup of your MFA, then strip out stuff until it no longer crashes.

    See if you can figure out what's crashing it?
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,982
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does it crash for everyone or just you? If it's only for you try updating your video card drivers and/or direct x

    Edit: Nevermind. If it works except frame 3 then there's something going on there. Do what LB suggested. Though I guess it never hurts to keep your drivers up to date.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,852
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys,..I'll give it a shot.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,852
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well,.I'm using an INI. I delete it in the 3rd frame,.now it loads the 3 frame, but that doesn't make sense at all, because I'm using the INI in the other frames and they load fine. Very strange....

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried ticking the Create before Frame Fade In option?
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,852
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    LB,..you are a genius! You are the man!! It's fixed and working perfect. How in the world did you come up with that? So I should do this in every frame with the INI? I would imagine so, since I'm using fade-in/fade-out transitions on every frame.

    You should write a book.

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well the issue is commonly that the Start of Frame events happen before the fade-in, and some objects don't exist yet. It's a very common crash.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,852
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you again LB. I do have another question,.why would using Direct3D 9 be any better than using Standard display modes. What is the difference? Why would one be used over another?

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,982
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Direct3D let's you take advantage of the users hardware (i.e. graphics card) to have more horsepower to handle lots of objects at once, as well as parallax scrolling with layers which can cause slow down without HWA. Basically, if you're game is slowing down, try D3D9 mode and that should clear things up for the most part. You also can take advantage of shaders to add special effects.

    A simple game like Solitaire or something wouldn't need D3D to run smooth, but D3D defaults to software mode if a user doesn't have a GPU that can run D3D9. Only real concern would be that windows controls don't work with D3D, but there are workarounds. I always make everything in Direct3D 9 by default anymore. Not much of a reason to not use it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Game crash in swf format.
    By videogiochi in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th March 2013, 11:41 AM
  2. Beginner's crash-course on MMF2: Your first game
    By happygreenfrog in forum Articles
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd August 2012, 09:49 PM
  3. iPhone/iPad Game Crash
    By TechEdDiva in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th March 2012, 12:22 AM
  4. B14: Crash in game
    By AndyH in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th January 2012, 11:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •