User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Disable all sound effects

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Disable all sound effects

    Im looking for a cross-platform way to disable all sounds in an application. I'm putting a simple button in a settings menu, so the user can mute the whole app. Initially, I was just using this to toggle the volume of channel #1 between 0 and 100. I noticed however that this does not seem to work on the iphone.

    Of course, I could set some internal variable, and then use this in my conditions to decide whether to play a sound, but this causes a lot of conditions to be duplicated in my events editor.

    Should I be using the pause samples option instead? Will this work on all platforms?

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,090
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What about "Set main volume"?

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah! Can't believe I didn't see that in the menu. Need to get my eyes checked.

    Looks like that works on the iphone, and a better solution overall. Thank you!

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    107
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Update:

    So I implemented this, and it works great when the app runs on the PC. I set the main volume in my applications menu setting, and as a consequence all sounds in the game are either muted or not.

    On the ipod however, half of the sound effects in my game can still be heard. This puzzled me, but I found the cause. For certain sounds in my game, I am using the 'Set Sample Volume' to change their volume depending on an in-game ball speed.... It seems that on the ipod, this action on a single sample overrides the main volume for the sound object. (Or the main volume is ignored when the sample volume is independently set...)

    For now, I have a simple solution to get around this. Im going to use a global variable (0 or 1) to multiply the sample volumes in all of my events. I have a lot of expressions to rewrite, but it should work well....


    Thanks again!

Similar Threads

  1. Getting Sound Effects right
    By ZayLong in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th November 2010, 02:23 AM
  2. How do I do sound effects?
    By ac3raven in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th May 2010, 03:25 PM
  3. 2 sound effects
    By 007 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th September 2008, 05:03 AM
  4. Sound Effects
    By Stephen38 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2007, 09:11 PM
  5. Sound Effects...
    By Renatos in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th August 2006, 09:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •