User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Action Spot Simulation

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fanotherpg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    3,663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Action Spot Simulation

    I got platform engine and I made a rope for it - very dirty and not perfectly working - it always moves and I can stick my character to it via Action Spot (which is on far bottom). And everything works great but...

    When my character collides with the rope in the middle and I attempt to catch it it teleports to Action Spot so is there any way to simulate action spot instead of providing few different animation frames, and try to on base of calculation take the one with the closest action spot to reduce the visual lag of teleportation?

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export Module
    ChrisBurrows's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure if I follow...

    When your player jumps on to the rope, you "stick" it to the rope using its hotspot. But, depending on where you player collides with the rope, there is a noticeable jump in the players position?

    I'd have to see your code, but you need to work out the difference between the x,y position of your player and the x,y position of the rope at the time of collision, then add or subtract the difference in x and y position when you align your player with the rope.

    However, this means your player won't always be positioned at the spot on the rope. This may or may not be a problem for you.

    What I suggest is have an invisible detector always positioned at the middle of your player. Make this detector 1 pixel wide and as high as your player. Simply test when the detector collides with the rope, as opposed to your player. This way, your player "attaches" to the rope only then he/she is in the middle of it, thus no noticeable change in position.

    If none of that makes sense, upload your mfa and I'll show you.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fanotherpg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    3,663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It makes sense but I'm using action spot and rope is always in movement. I will try my quirky solution and upload MFA with it.

    OK my idea seems to be working just fine:

    http://tm2fk.pl/line_expanded.html
    Attached files Attached files

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export Module
    ChrisBurrows's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your swinging rope code is insane and I'm not quiet sure what those two actives are for, so I've just made an example from scratch.

    Using Pythagoras you can work out at exactly what point on the rope your player collided with it, and then using Cos and Sin you can swing your player on the rope.
    Attached files Attached files

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fanotherpg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    3,663
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Other actives where for different tests, but your solution seems to be much nicer - thanks.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export Module
    FinalSpecimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @ ChrisBurrows - I am trying out your example for a swing of my own, but the only thing I can't seem to customize is my player's position on the rope - I have an animation with his arm holding on to the rope, so there is very little margin for error to make this look right. Is there a way to have the player 'snap' to the same point each time he collides with the rope?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export Module
    FinalSpecimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry to bump this - I have figured out my previous question, but when I duplicate the rope object and put 4-5 rope objects in the frame, I have a problem.

    When my player collides with a rope, he doesn't latch onto that particular rope but rather seems to be teleporting to the last rope created in the frame editor. Usually when I am working with duplicated objects, I can write a condition that affects only one object at a time, but I can't seem to find a way around this one. Any thoughts?

  8. #8
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yonkers, New York, USA
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FinalSpecimen: That's strange. Would cloning the ropes and adding all the ropes to a group help?

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export Module
    FinalSpecimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    123
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That seemed like a good idea Jester, but still having the same problem.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleMac Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    AyreGuitar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    1,113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FinalSpecimen - May I suggest you read these articles by Chris Burrows on Object Pairing and Object Scope?
    http://www.diybandits.com.au/MMF/articles.html

    They should help you understand how MMF2 works with duplicates of the same object.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Changing Hot Spot/Action Point on many frames at once
    By xhedgehogx in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th February 2019, 11:35 AM
  2. Changing hot spot/action spot at runtime?
    By Petedevlin in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th October 2013, 10:48 PM
  3. Batch Set Hospot/Action Spot
    By ProdigyX in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th December 2011, 01:24 AM
  4. Changing hot spot/action point at runtime?
    By Pixelthief in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th February 2009, 10:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •