User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Audio *tick* sound when resuming a muted sample

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Audio *tick* sound when resuming a muted sample

    Hi
    I am experiencing a strange *tic* sound when i resume a sample wich is already muted.
    I have made a simple Application ( see Attachment at bottom of post ) wich recreates the *tic* sound.

    In the Application there is a Background Music Sample playing.
    You toggle mute and pause by pressing "M" and "P".

    To recreate the *tic* sound, simply press "P" then "M" the "P" again ( Pause the sample, Mute the sample, Resume the sample ).

    ...
    What is it, and why is it appearing ( the audio *tic* )?
    Is there anything i can do to fix it?
    Attached files Attached files

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,862
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it has something to do with the setting the volume to zero. I think it's taking to long for it to happen and clipping off the sound for a millisecond. Not to sure about that,.but you can hear it.

  3. #3
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It has nothing to do with setting the volume to zero:
    Even if i pause a Sample and set the Volume to 1, and the resume Sample the Audio *Tic* is still loud and clear.

    The Audio *Tic* is however slightly different each time, wich leads me to believe that the Audio *Tic* is actually the Sample playing at Full Volume for a few Millisecounds uppon resuming.
    Why it is doing so i dont know, but i would like to know.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DJFuego's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,414
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the Sample starting from the beginning or somewhere in the middle? If the tick is from the beginning of the sample then try editing the sample so it fades in very quickly or make sure the sample begins on total silence 0db

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DJFuego View Post
    Is the Sample starting from the beginning or somewhere in the middle? If the tick is from the beginning of the sample then try editing the sample so it fades in very quickly or make sure the sample begins on total silence 0db
    It starts playing from Start Of Frame ( loops endlessly ), and i can press 'M' to Mute ( set Volume to 0 ) or 'P' to Pause ( Sample just pauses, it does not start over from the beginning ).
    - If i first Mute, then turn Pause On and Off, the Audio *Tic* does not occur.
    - If i first turn Pause On, then Mute and then turn Pause Off again, the Audio *Tic* occurs.

    I have revealed through further testing however, that the reduction or change in Sample Volume has nothing to do with the issue at all.
    So it seem like ( to me at least, based on testing ) that there is a problem with setting the Volume while the Sample is allready Paused.
    If i set the Volume before the Sample is Paused, there is no Audio *Tic*.

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I meant to say

    "problem with setting the Volume while the Sample is allready Paused." not "Muted"

    I have corrected the previous post.

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok i made a sort of an AudioEngine Test Application. I have locked all Sound Channels except 1 and 2 for simplicitys sake.

    In the Application you can very clearly hear a loud Audio *Tic* uppon Stopping, Pausing, Resuming or Repositioning the Sample ( you press buttons to do this ).
    In Flash builds you can even hear the Audio *Tic* when muting/ unmuting ( Setting Channel Volume to 0 or 100 ).
    My friend tells me on his suround system this *Tic* sound sounds pretty bad.

    Surely this issue must have ben adressed in the past, but i cannot find anything about it anywhere!?
    Am i the only one who hear this Audio bug?

    Ive ben struggeling to fix this for a long time now, and i really really really want to get it fixed.
    Attached files Attached files

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,862
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm hoping that the Clickteam will take a look at your example King-Cool as this has been an ongoing issue on my side too. Infact, when you sent me a PM about games you've tested that are here on the site and pointed out how many games have this audio tic issue, I was kind of shocked that most of the games have this problem.

    The only work around I came up with is to use Fade-in/Fade-outs on music (not midi) and samples in a game. This example uses values to control the volume of samples and activating and deactivating groups. When you click on the In game Pause Button a pause screen is displayed and at the same time the music and samples that are playing fade to 0 instead of being set to 0 or pausing them. Before you press the pause button, press the play sample button first, this plays an explosion. As that's playing quickly press the pause button and you'll hear the fade taking place on both the music and explosion.
    On the pause options screen it gives you the option of selecting no samples in game, no music in game, play samples or play music. It seems to work well and there is not audio tic. I'm sure the events I have coded can be done differently with not as many events. I used 16 events to control it all. This is one work around, but MMF's audio engine needs to be upgraded.
    Attached files Attached files

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been reviewing the games from this thread "Flash released games and apps" here on the Forum.
    http://community.clickteam.com/forumdisplay.php?f=275
    they should all be Flash Games Made with MMF2.

    I have analyzed each and every one of them to see if the Audio *TIC* sound is present.

    ...

    GAMES WICH I FOUND AUDIO *TIC* PRESENT:

    SPAZE INVADERS
    Sound Mute button at bottom right screen. Also triggered by pressing 'M'.
    Audio *Tic* can be heard at times when muting on and of, more noticable when music at low point.

    SANZARU FORTRESS ( Chinese version )
    Mute with 'm'.
    Audio *Tic* clearly present when toggeling mute.

    SLAYIN
    pause with 'p', toggle mute by pressing icon.
    In very rare cases a very low Audio *Tic* can be heard when toggeling mute.

    ONCE IN SPACE
    Mute icon top right corner.
    Audio *Tic* clearly present when toggeling mute.

    MAGNET KID
    Audio Tic rarely occurs when toggeling mute from Options menu and in game ( toggle with m/n ).

    FASHION AND GLAMOUR
    Mute button at top right corner.
    Low Audio *Tic* rarely occurs when toggeling mute ( seems to be related to musics general possition/ volume ).

    FIND THE LUCKY SPOT
    Toggle mute button at bottom left corner.
    Loud Audio *Tic* occures very often when toggeling mute.

    BULLETLESS
    Mute button at top right corner.
    Occasional medium high Audio *Tic*. Seems to be related to Musics general possition.

    PAUPIETTE AT FAST DIEGO
    Toggle Pause with 'P'.
    Occasional Audio *Tic* when toggeling Pause.

    CRAZY CRAB
    Sound but no ingame music.
    Toggle pause with 'P'.
    Loud noticable Audio *Tic* when Pausing during jump sound.

    FUSE
    Toggle mute with 'M'
    Loud and clear Audio *Tic* when toggeling mute.

    FRESH BURGER
    Toggle mute button at top right corner.
    Loud and clear Audio *Tic* when toggeling mute. Seems related to general possition of music.

    MIGHTY FIN
    Toggle mute button at right side.
    Loud and clear Audio *Tic* when toggeling mute.

    CRAZY BAT
    Loud and clear Audio *Tic* when toggeling music from Options Menu.

    MICRO SOCCER
    Togle Mute button at top left corner.
    Loud and clear Audio *Tic* when toggeling music from Options Menu.


    GAMES WHERE I DID NOT FIND SIGNIFICANT AUDIO *TIC*:

    GAME ABOUT GAME LITERACY
    Mute with 'm'.
    Toggeling mute does not seem to yiel any Audio *Tic*. If it does its very low almost too low to hear.

    EGGS AND CO
    Pause by pressing 'p'.
    No noticable Audio *Tic* whatsoever.

    MY SHAPES
    Sound but no ingame music.
    No noticable Audio *Tic* whatsoever.


    GAMES WICH WERE HARD OR IMPOSSIBLE TO TEST FOR AUTIO *TIC*:

    BURNER MAN
    Server timeout.

    STORM GEAR
    Appears to have no sound, although there is options for it.

    COLORS NEXT
    Link goes to Spaze Invaderz :P

    CABO BAY
    No pause or mute function.

    VINCERE TOTUS ASTRUM
    Dont have Facebook :P

    HOTELL BARON
    Couldnt find any pause or mute function.

    GEM FUSION
    Just a Youtube Video...?

    RUNNING FREE
    Has no music and no way to mute sound during game play.

    TRESURES
    Sound but no music. Especially hard to test in this game.
    No noticable Audio *Tic*.

    CARNIVOR
    Sound but no music. Especially hard to test in this game.
    No noticable Audio *Tic*.

    THE STORY OF THE WORLD
    No apparent way to mute or Pause.

    CLICK BOTS
    Toggle sound button at top center. Especially hard to test in this game.
    No noticable Audio *Tic*.

    MINER IN WAR
    No apparent way to Mute or Pause.

    BRAK TRIX
    404 Page not found :P

    ANT SURF HERO: THE SURFENING
    Press 'm' to 'mute' but wont unmute. Hard to test.

    HARRY AND THE SQUARES
    No apparent way to mute or pause.

    ...
    By creating an Audio Fade system together with KlikIT i have made a discovery.
    I think i have figured out genraly what is causing the Audio *Tic*.

    Whenever a Sample makes a jump in Volume, there is an audio *Tic*.
    - A short jump ( for example from 100 to 95 ) yields a low *Tic*.
    - While a long jump ( for example from 100 to 75, or 100 to 0 ) yields a louder *Tic*.

    I have made an example to illustrate this.

    ...
    This Audio *Tic* thing is driving me nutz.
    The few games where the Audio *Tic* was absent ( or seemingly absent ) must have done something right.

    As i see it there are 2 ways of handeling this situation. None of them fixes the problem.
    ( A ) leave it be and just accept the *Tic*
    ( B ) Be carefull by selecting ( or modifying ) Samples that dont produce much of an Audio *Tic*. This last option might be a totall wast of time or too much work for what its worth though.

Similar Threads

  1. audio sample plays on top of itself
    By mbuddha in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th December 2012, 09:01 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th November 2012, 06:46 AM
  3. play audio sample backwards
    By Dave in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th September 2012, 05:34 PM
  4. Loud *Click* sound when Pausing, Resuming or Stoping Samples in Flash builds?
    By King_Cool in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th June 2012, 02:21 PM
  5. Correct method of resuming a sample of music over frames.
    By Apex in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd December 2011, 10:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •