User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Version number issue

  1. #1
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    ASD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,786
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Version number issue

    I found strange issue of version number at application property.

    Set the "0.99.120623" in the version information box. But, property of the build application will displayed "0.99.55087.0".
    Also set the "0.99.12.06.23". But, property of the build application will displayed "0.99.12.6".

    What's the theory of the version information in MMF2?

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,515
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    4 numbers. eg: 1.0.0.1
    _____________________________________________
    Nivram's Examples -Need extensions? Send me a PM.-


  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    ASD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,786
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why change the number "0.99.120623.1" to ""0.99.55087.1"?
    And can add the "0" in front of numbers (e.g. "0.99.01.1" => "0.99.1.1")?

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperInstall Creator Pro
    Corlagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    a basement in Muenster
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    MMF2 is stupid in that is allows you to enter the version as a string, yet silently converts it into four numbers when compiling, possibly in a different way than you would do it yourself.

    I remember reading that Windows executables do allow developers to add the version in string format (in addition to the four numbers), but am unable to find such info again.

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,406
    Mentioned
    168 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    As Stephen says it's 4 numbers, each number must be between 0 and 65535.

  6. #6
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperInstall Creator Pro
    Corlagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    a basement in Muenster
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, but neither MMF2 itself nor the help file tell us about this.

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,009
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    That's because any developer needing to divulge this kind of information would know about it... or at least Google it

    I fail to see the point of some of these topics, asif a developer is going to even get to a 0.0.0.65535 release without just hitting up the former minor version 0.0.1.0?

    I don't see where this kind of rant is going to get anybody...
    Want to learn Clickteam Fusion 2.5?




  8. #8
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    ASD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,786
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yves View Post
    As Stephen says it's 4 numbers, each number must be between 0 and 65535.
    Thanks for info!

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Corlagon View Post
    I remember reading that Windows executables do allow developers to add the version in string format (in addition to the four numbers), but am unable to find such info again.
    Are you talking about the "ProductVersion" field? With programs that I make with other software, I normally set the "FileVersion" field to a number version (e.g. 1.2.0.32), and set the "ProductVersion" to the build number ("120627b" if it's a beta version made in 2012, June, 27th). MMF2 doesn't have this field, though.
    Alternatively, use the 1st number to denote the major version, and the remaining 3 to denote the date in year.month.day format. (e.g. 1.12.6.27 for v1 of the software compiled on 2012/06/27). There are no rules that say that software versions MUST increase by .1 each version.

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperInstall Creator Pro
    Corlagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    a basement in Muenster
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ByteDex View Post
    That's because any developer needing to divulge this kind of information would know about it... or at least Google it
    "needing"? MMF apparently allows me to enter the version, so I naturally do it.

    I don't think MMF's target audience can be expected to expect their designation to be amended (even at build time rather than edit time, and in a way that is incompatible with version numbers used by Microsoft themselves in the past). And I don't think MMF Dev has a narrower target audience, as it is also being marketed to people who "just require more features".

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Version number of save frame position
    By ASD in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th September 2012, 03:05 PM
  2. MMF2 Dev set the exe version number
    By ASD in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th August 2011, 11:46 PM
  3. What's the version number of Save frame position?
    By ASD in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 09:57 AM
  4. I like to have a version number macro
    By Gitaarheld in forum Install Creator and Patch Maker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th October 2010, 11:57 AM
  5. Retrieve version number?
    By Richard_Pikk in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th January 2010, 03:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •