Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Zombie AI?

Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Zombie AI?

Can anyone help me find a way to make it so a Zombie (Active Object with Bouncing Ball movement), can make it's way around obstacles, walls, things that it doesn't get stuck on? I'm not very good with path finding and such so please bare with me if I ask too many questions. Also is it possible that there is an object that makes it so that Active Objects can ignore other Active objects by going around them somehow?

Clicker

Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a great pathfinding extension.

Warning: Pathfinding can be incredibly difficult and can consume a great deal of processing power... The way you posted your question makes it sound like you think it's as easy as adding an "ignore other objects and move around them" event, and it's much, much more complicated than that.

There are numerous pathfinding solutions but it really depends on a number of things:

1. How "smart" does the AI need to be? Is it just avoiding some simple objects? Does it have to navigate complex mazes?
    2. Does it have to navigate moving obstacles? This greatly increases processing needed because it's having to run pathfinding nonstop to adjust for any changes in the path.
    3. Is it okay if the object gets "stuck"? Many games have simpler AI solutions which result in allowing the player to trick NPCs into running constantly into a wall or corner.
    4. Is your environment grid based? Is it multi-leveled?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)