Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Change window size and switch aspect at runtime

  1. #1

    Change window size and switch aspect at runtime

    Example made for Strife:

    aspectsize.mfa

    Allows the user to switch between 4:3 and 16:9 aspect ratios at runtime and resize display to fill window size with no distortion.

    Supports x1, x2 and x3 resolutions and fullscreen (experimental). Can be easily modified to include more.

    Good for low-res games that require switching to widescreen.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,923
    Now, if you could do this without resizing the window, you would easily have dynamic zooming made easy

  3. #3

  4. #4
    This is really fantastic! Great example. I've thought about this method before but never implemented it. You've made a great base here.

    Do you know of any potential problems with using a sub-app for this kind of thing? I wonder how it compares to a standard frame in terms of performance amongst other things. I would think that there would be a drawback somewhere, or have sub-apps really come a long way since I last used them?
    Currently working on Dungeon Dashers.
    Creator of Faerie Solitaire, Stray Whisker, and Dungeon Dash. Known on TDC as AssaultAndy.
    Twitter | Jigxor.com

  5. #5
    I made a test that creates 500 actives with bouncing/wall collision movements within the game frame and saw no fps drop but further testing is probably needed.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    1,982
    very useful, thanks for sharing mate!

Similar Threads

  1. Changing screen size/aspect ratio at runtime?
    By Strife in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23rd June 2015, 09:57 PM
  2. Change sub-app's window size?
    By BartekB in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th December 2013, 09:19 PM
  3. Change aspect ratio at runtime
    By netninja in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 02:56 PM
  4. Change Window size?
    By Jarzka in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th November 2008, 03:28 PM
  5. [Bug] Window size after resolution change
    By Gustav in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th June 2008, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •