User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Have a frame remain as you left it

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5SWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    SuperDisk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA #1
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Have a frame remain as you left it

    Hi there. How do I create a frame that lets you edit stuff in it (create objects, rearrange stuff, etc), then leave to another frame, then come back, and everything is how you left it? Do I REALLY need to write all the data to an INI file then read it? That just seems absurd.

    How is this normally done?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    gkinfinity's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not quite sure what your problem is. Are you talking about a frame that's a level editor? Depending on what you're doing you can have a sub-app (containing the contents of another frame) open in the frame you are currently working in and then close it when you're done. That way you never leave the frame and therefore don't need to save and load anything.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5SWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    SuperDisk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA #1
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pretty much, yes. But this also applies to other stuff as well, like enemies that stay where they were when you left instead of resetting back to their start position. Sub-apps seem a bit hacky.. any other way to do it?

  4. #4
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm pretty sure this feature doesn't exist. I would think it would consume a lot of memory.

    I actually need to do something similar for a game I'm working on. I assumed I would just write temporary array files or something.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5SWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    SuperDisk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA #1
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's really too bad. Game Maker has this feature, so it's not impossible.

    Perhaps an extension could be created.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    S.East England
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depends how game maker does it. I'm sure an array or ini file wouldn't be too difficult to use..

  7. #7
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Konidias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,546
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well there's the save frame position thing in MMF... (in the Storyboard Controls) but all I've heard is that it's super buggy/crashes stuff a lot and I have never gone near it.

    Honestly I'll probably save/load with arrays for my game. It's really not that difficult to set up and once it's set up, it works flawlessly and you don't need to really mess with it again.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5SWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    SuperDisk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA #1
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "Save Frame Position" Sounds cool but it seems to be greyed out on my copy of MMF2. Is there a special condition you have to put it in?

    Edit: It's because i'm exporting as SWF. Crud.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    happygreenfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    I.L.T.D.O.I.R (I.L.T.D.O.I.R's Location: The Dimension Of Infinite Recursion)
    Posts
    4,306
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It really all depends on how large your game is. If it's small enough (5 or so frames that require they save all enemy/item positions/whether or not they've been collected/destroyed/etc., possibly up to 25), then there are ways you could do it without it crashing. If it has 100+ frames, however, it would almost certainly reach the point where it would crash due to taking up way too much RAM (Random Access Memory). Just so you know, you could certainly make it so that there are items that you can only collect once, and bosses that you can only defeat once (if you are making a Metroid-style game, for example). However, again, it really all depends on how big your game is. One more thing: If you want your game to save whether or not the enemies are defeated, you will need to use the INI object, as that is one of the (if not the) only way(s) to save in flash.

  10. #10
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 Developer

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've achieved this by making actives into global active objects, and set up Behaviours so that they constantly read their X and Y position and write it into their own Alt Values, and on start frame set their position to those values.
    If you want to make things be visible/invisible etc, depending on player actions, the same can be achieved by just reading a 0/1("true/fale") value in another Alt Value field.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [BUG] X Right Frame expression return X Left Frame position
    By mobichan in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th October 2012, 03:08 PM
  2. Leaving frame 1 to right, enter frame 2 from left
    By Martin in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th May 2010, 09:29 AM
  3. Stopping on the left and right edge of the frame
    By Rabagast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th January 2010, 08:22 PM
  4. Top left corner of frame flashing
    By Olivier in forum File Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th February 2008, 04:00 PM
  5. Object Boundreys remain...
    By LB in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4th July 2007, 11:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •