User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Virtual buttons of Nexus devices

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    WhiteEyeDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Virtual buttons of Nexus devices

    Hello,
    Google Nexus devices unlike many other Android smartphones have no hardware buttons (for example like the Samsung Galaxy 3) only virtual buttons.

    my problem is that these virtual buttons lie over the actual frame. The actual frame width remains. Thus all the Hud elements /Buttons I positioning with: "Set X position to X Right Frame-30" will be covered by these virtuall buttons. Is there a way to get the current width of the Android screen?

    The "Touch joystick" from the Android Exporter positions itself correctly. So I am assuming that there is a way.
    Or is there even a way to get rid of this virtual buttons? Complete full screen would be best. :-D


    Would be nice if someone could help me.

    Greetings Tobi

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export Module
    AndyH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,445
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you go onto the Android tab for the application properties you can set how you want your window / frame to be handled. I've noticed that the two that will resize your window work fine on my Nexus 7 and will adjust to take the virtual button space into account, although I've not read from the get screen edge expressions yet, so assuming they work correctly all should be good. The only quirk I found was that there is an option to hide the status bar. If you tick this your app will start using the full screen but when you tap the screen the app window shrinks (and MMF correctly resizes) and the nexus button area appears in the space - if I don't hide the status bar it all works smoothly.
    Andy H @ ovine.net
    Awful Jokes - a new cartoon every day: http://awful.ovine.net/
    Ovine's games: http://www.ovine.net

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    WhiteEyeDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the answer.

    Unfortunately, I have to leave the display setting in my game to Fit Outside otherwise I get graphical glitches (Small distances between the Quick Backdrops)
    On the Nexus 7 that's not that bad because virtual buttons appears from the bottom (landscape). But on the smartphone they come from the right and thus they cover 32px of the Frame.

    I need a way to position the graphics to the right edge of the Android screen not game frame.

    Hope someone knows what I mean, sorry my english is not so good.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    WhiteEyeDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    After much trial and error I have it nearly:

    Frame Width > ScreenWidth (Android Objekt) ==> Set Frame Width to ScreenWidth (Android Objekt)
    Frame Width = ScreenWidth (Android Objekt) ==> Set X Position (Counter) to ScreenWidth (Android Objekt)-10

    But now the counter is flying to the left out of the picture. The counter should only went 10pixel to the left. What am I doing wrong?

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well its checking that condition every frame, so add another check to that event that only runs it once.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Realnoize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've been wrestling recently with this, as my Nexus 4 has only software buttons. I too use the "fit outside" mode to make it work and noticed that the value returned by "X Right Frame" includes the pixels occupied by the software buttons, resulting in some controls being covered by the system buttons. I was curious if there's a way to actually detect if the device has software or hardware buttons, but I haven't found any, thus being somewhat stumped.

    I haven't thought of that solution. Thanks for sharing. I'll try it.

Similar Threads

  1. Virtual joystick position incorrect location on various devices
    By jfohl3r in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th March 2014, 03:09 AM
  2. Game center only connecting on virtual devices...
    By Shmuper in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th March 2012, 06:21 PM
  3. Virtual Width/ Virtual Height Revisited
    By Donald in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th July 2006, 12:32 AM
  4. What is Virtual Height and Virtual Width?
    By Patrick in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th July 2006, 12:23 PM
  5. Changing Virtual Height and Virtual Width at run
    By Donald in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13th July 2006, 10:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •