User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why is my Flash Window resized?

  1. #1
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why is my Flash Window resized?

    Hi
    I recently tried to run an Application ( which ran fine before ) as a Flash build.
    The Window size is set to the standard 640x480.

    To my suprise, when run as flash, the Window size is set to 800x575!
    And yes, it is displaying content outside my Frame area.

    I have not uppdated the flash verison, i am running MMF2 v257.12.

    Why is this happening all of the sudden?
    How can i fix it?

  2. #2
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    - Im using Windows 7
    - Im using Firefox version 23.01
    - Im running the latest Flash version
    - ( I dont know if im using the latest stable MMF2 flash version )
    - Im running MMF2 build R257.12
    - Mt frame size is 640x480

    ...
    This is what i see if i run the Application normaly, even if i maximize the window size.


    ...
    This is what i see when building and running it as Flash.
    - It happens if i click the 'build ad run' buttin from within MMF2
    - It happens if i firs build, then run the resulting html file


    ...
    .MFA
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...rameResize.mfa

    Flash
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...ameResize.html

    ...
    Maybe someone could test and see if the results are the same or different?

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    happygreenfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    I.L.T.D.O.I.R (I.L.T.D.O.I.R's Location: The Dimension Of Infinite Recursion)
    Posts
    4,304
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine for me. Is your browser zoomed in, by any chance?

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OMG, you are right!
    By zooming in the browser ( hold CTRL + MouseWheel ) the Flash Application is able to display the area outside the Frame Boundries ( 640x480 ).
    I tested this on released Flash games here on the site, but didnt experience this problem.

    Is this behaviour normal?
    Should i be worried?
    ( I uppdated to the latest Flash Beta, but issuestil persists )

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    happygreenfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    I.L.T.D.O.I.R (I.L.T.D.O.I.R's Location: The Dimension Of Infinite Recursion)
    Posts
    4,304
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That behavior is normal for MMF2-made flash games. To fix it, make a black border (basically a pixel-large object scaled to be really big) that is always above everything, and make sure it's placed outside of your frame, to make sure that players can't see outside of the play area when zoomed in. If your game is scrolling, make sure those objects are set accordingly (disable follow the frame).

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export Module
    DizzyDoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    South England
    Posts
    718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A better solution would be to use Looki's FlashFX extension. Just drop it into every frame, and on at least the first one have a Start of Frame condition with a FlashFX - Stage - Set scale mode to 'exactFit'. This will scale the game up when you zoom in. There are other scale modes you can experiment with too.
    Cranktrain - Currently finishing a new game called The Cat Machine!
    @MattLuard on Twitter.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    TechVision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This has been fixed by Clickteam, so no extensions are needed. What you do is make sure that under "Properties" > "Window" you have "Resize display to fill window size" ticked on. This really should be default when selecting Flash as build type.

Similar Threads

  1. Window Control for Flash?
    By EdibleWare in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd July 2013, 07:44 PM
  2. Inactive if to far from window in Flash
    By Outcast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th March 2013, 03:18 PM
  3. Flash URL - Same Window
    By tom79 in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th April 2012, 09:43 PM
  4. Keeping position of buttons when window is resized
    By Ran_TH in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd November 2009, 07:54 AM
  5. Window resized without border
    By DEKE15 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th November 2009, 05:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •