User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What's up with multitouch?

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    MTCMusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    369
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    What's up with multitouch?

    Hello,

    I know that the multitouch conditions were changed, but now I can't test the multitouch using the CTRL key in Windows. Do I have to always build for iOS and run it through xcode to my iPad in order to test it now? This is annoying!

    Is there a way to test my multitouch routines for iOS in MMF?

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Diablohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The new touch events to me did not need changing, starting a touch by number was working fine for me, now I need to figure out a new multitouch method. I honestly never saw a problem with the old events.

  3. #3
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did something drastically change? I can't seem to get a simple drag operation to work. I am recording a touch position and doing an x position comparison to determine the swipe direction. I tried using the (Touch has started on an active) condition to set a flag. The swipe only works if the flag is set. Does anyone know if there is a bug with this new condition that would fail to work in this way? It works fine in the PC runtime. I only see this issue when running on device.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    UrbanMonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Southern U.S.A.
    Posts
    847
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Uh oh. Does this mean my older software will no longer function correctly?

    I built an entire engine around the old multi-touch object.

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'll have a look at it next week.

  6. #6
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    mobichan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    3,310
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @Francois: I emailed a simple example of the problem to Anders. Let me know if you would like the file as well.

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hello all.

    I have completed my tasks on MMF2.5, I can now deal with Multitouch. Sorry for the delay.

    What I have done in the latest version of the object.

    I have removed the condition "A new touch has occured (number)" FROM THE MENU ONLY.
    The condition is still there, the code is here, applications with this condition will continue to work with the new version, the event-editor will display the condition. You simply cannot enter a new version of this condition.

    Why did I do that.

    This condition makes an assumption on the number of the new touch. Basically, people where thinking that the first touch on the screen would be #0 and the second #1. It worked by chance. But Apple NEVER commited to anything about the number of the touches. On my side, in the extension, the allocation of the slots may vary as well. Applications using this condition may fail on a future version of iOS.
    This is the reason why I removed it.

    The proper way to proceed :

    * A new touch has occured
    - Set counter to Last new touch number

    ... Then use the counter to access the touch until it is released. Please note that I have left "A touch has been released (number)" as it does make sense.
    You just have to use a counter to do it the proper way.

    I am currently working on this object, if you have bugs to report (with demo mfas) I would welcome them.

    Francois

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Diablohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for explaining stuff, I had my touch events working rather quickly after changing how a new touch works as I wanted it to be the new way of doing things, maybe it's how i wrote the events but I never had a problem with the number thing, unless there is something really weird going on I found the numbers worked to check each touch number.

    Shrug.

  9. #9
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Francois's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    6,920
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes, but if Apple decides to change the way things work, it would not work anymore.
    Better be safe than...

    EDIT : the "A new touch on an object has occured" condition did not work on iOS (worked ont he PC). Corrected.

Similar Threads

  1. Multitouch Bug
    By WhiteEyeDesign in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th April 2013, 06:23 PM
  2. Multitouch still buggy
    By loglady in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1st December 2011, 05:40 PM
  3. Multitouch still buggy
    By loglady in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th November 2011, 07:31 PM
  4. Multitouch
    By Keith in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th August 2011, 03:20 PM
  5. Multitouch?
    By wizkidweb in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10th September 2008, 02:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •