User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Counter Conditional Confusion

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Counter Conditional Confusion

    I've been trying to figure out why this is not working, and I'm at wit's end. Here's the setup:

    Conditions:
    "LaunchCounter" < 30
    Every 8 seconds
    Pick a random object from zone

    Events:
    Create Projectile from (randomly selected object) - works just fine
    Launch Projectile toward (direction) at speed 10 - works just fine
    Set speed (of Projectile) to RRandom(5,10) - works just fine
    Add 1 to Counter "LaunchCounter" - DOES NOT WORK AT ALL

    I'm trying to count how many Projectiles have been launched (there can be dozens on the screen at once) and stop launching after a certain amount is reached (in this case 30). Is it impossible to [Add 1 to Counter] if that same counter is part of the conditions of that event?

    I'd hate to have to make ANOTHER counter and then do a compare condition. It seems unnecessary and sloppy, and just downright back coding. There must be something I'm missing.

    I've let it run for several minutes to see if something is being slow on the uptake, and I just end up with TONS of Projectile items on the screen.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export Module

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are there any conditions in which Launch Counter is set, reduced or reset?

    I am curious if some other assignment is getting in the way. Try also adding 1 to a new global value and check it's progress in the debug console to make sure the event is firing all the way (it should be)

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are no other conditions interacting with LaunchCounter.
    I have attempted to add 1 to (or otherwise modify) existing or new counters, and nothing happens.
    I am almost embarrassed to mention it, but I've never encountered a situation where I've needed to consult the debug console. How do I view it?

  4. #4
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Alright! Taking some of what you offered, and making a few other changes, it seems to be working now. In order to avoid the zoning parameters, I have just set up some unique spawn Objects and am just randomly picking one of them. And with my setup, I can STILL use the same spawn spots for multiple types of spawned Objects.

    Thanks for the help! I've been working with Fusion for a little while, but had just never encountered anything like that. I think my problem is that I'm STILL trying to approach things from a written programming conditional perspective, where each word does its own thing. Here, there's a bunch of stuff going on at once, and even more behind the scenes. I just have to stop force-feeding it.

Similar Threads

  1. List Object - Conditional Data Check
    By Mikegames in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th May 2012, 08:34 PM
  2. Conditional destroying
    By Atomic89 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd May 2011, 05:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •