User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Fusion and MMF2 Runtime Memory Differences

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Fusion and MMF2 Runtime Memory Differences

    Hi,

    I noticed Fusion uses more memory than MMF2 Dev on the same frame for playtest, which means longer transitioning/loading time into the frame:

    - MMF2 DEV shows 280 objects at 80 MB
    - Fusion shows 280 objects at 160 MB

    I actually have about 100 more larger objects not created at the start (80 MB worth) - for some reason, Fusion treats them as there. I haven't done anything to the frame and that I'm using the latest build.

    Is there something different in Fusion that is causing this? I was hoping for it to actually use less memory, not even more.

  2. #2
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,720
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look at the exe's and I think you will find that Clickteam Fusion 2.5 compresses better.

    Marv
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I forgot to mention the problem occurs during EXE more apparently as the time to load the Fusion frame is 3 seconds while the MMF2 DEV takes 1 second.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    960
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd say there may be slight overhead with Fusion 2.5, since there is the addition of physics objects, new bug fixes and a more optimised runtime under the hood.

    It could be a memory leak (bug) for all we know...

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Has anyone reproduced this or experienced similar problems so far?

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    12,917
    Mentioned
    94 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    This is probably due to the D3D mode, a part of the images may be duplicated as textures for D3D (the source image is kept into memory as textures may need to be recreated). Maybe you've selected the standard display mode in MMF2 and D3D in CF 2.5?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Ryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's probably correct, Fusion 2.5 uses Direct 3D by default, which I proved used more memory in a recent comparison of 2.5 and 2.0. Switching 2.5 to Standard mode makes the memory smaller, although still more than 2.0. There's a recent performance patch that's trying to address some performance issues, it's currently in beta, it might be worth trying out.

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    12,917
    Mentioned
    94 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    The performance patch is now obsolete as the beta version of the build 284 is now available, so I've removed it. But anyway there is no change that concerns the memory in this update, I think.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They were both tested in Direct 3D. I've tested Standard in both to make sure. My app doesn't use any newer or third party extensions.

    MMF2:
    Standard: 63 MB
    3D: 79 MB
    Objects running at time: 270

    2.5:
    Standard: 134 MB
    3D: 149 MB
    Objects running at time: 270


    Fusion 2.5 is reading my 80MB worth of static active objects as if they are checked "Create at start," which they are not. They're not created until manual input.

  10. #10
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    12,917
    Mentioned
    94 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    AFAIK "Create at start" works the same in both MMF2 and 2.5, so the reason is probably somewhere else. Do you have an example I could test?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th January 2015, 02:26 AM
  2. Why is MMF runtime 10 times faster then Fusion runtime on Andy?
    By Outcast in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th January 2015, 06:40 PM
  3. Fusion 2.5 : differences entre fastloops et for each ?
    By BenjaminG in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th January 2014, 08:05 PM
  4. MMF2 Runtime Memory Inconsistency
    By Kid_Roleplay in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 02:08 AM
  5. Differences between MMF2 and MMF 1.5
    By andy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th July 2007, 03:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •