User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Fusion and MMF2 Runtime Memory Differences

  1. #11
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've taken the 80MB worth of static active objects that are not "Create at Start" and paste into a new blank app. The test play showed 0 object at 85 mb. So I compared the settings between my app and the new app and found my old app's frame had checked: "Force Load on Call Option for all Objects." I'm not sure what does that do, but it helps lower the memory for my MMF2 app. However, Fusion 2.5 also have this checked, but nothing happens.

    MMF2
    Not Force Load: 149 MB
    Force Load on Call: 79 MB

    Fusion 2.5
    Not Force Load: 149 MB
    Force Load on Call: 149 MB

    It appears Fusion 2.5's "Force Load on Call" doesn't work or it doesn't work in the same way as MMF2.

  2. #12
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,308
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Hmm good catch. Yes there are 2 differences, a bug has been fixed and the option is ignored in backdrop objects if there is a physics engine object in the frame. The bug that was fixed might cause the effect you mention if an object has been dropped in the frame editor, even if it's Create At Start option is unchecked. I'll add this to the list of things to check.

  3. #13
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, if it helps to isolate the issue, I did not have any physics engine object or any objects/extensions that are not found in MMF2.

  4. #14
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    JHale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe Fusion has some sort of memory leak tho, because every time I restart a frame or go to the previous frame and back I noticed in the debugger the RAM jumps up by 2MB. I can repeatedly do this until I get up to 1GB or more.

  5. #15
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,308
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Please post a bug in the bug box with an example please, I can't reproduce it in a fresh app. Thanks!

  6. #16
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    JHale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is a picture describing what happens to show you the memory leak upon restarting the frame.

    restart issue.jpg

  7. #17
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,308
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I cannot reproduce it in a fresh app, with or without physics (just in case this would be due to the new features). Hopefully you can see what is causing the problem in your app.

  8. #18
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleMac Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    JHale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I'll send you my mfa through e-mail.

  9. #19
    Clickteam Clickteam

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13,308
    Mentioned
    152 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I've taken the 80MB worth of static active objects that are not "Create at Start" and paste into a new blank app. The test play showed 0 object at 85 mb. So I compared the settings between my app and the new app and found my old app's frame had checked: "Force Load on Call Option for all Objects." I'm not sure what does that do, but it helps lower the memory for my MMF2 app. However, Fusion 2.5 also have this checked, but nothing happens.

    MMF2
    Not Force Load: 149 MB
    Force Load on Call: 79 MB

    Fusion 2.5
    Not Force Load: 149 MB
    Force Load on Call: 149 MB
    This issue should be fixed in the build 284.1.

  10. #20
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I still have the same issue with 284.1 with the "Force Load on Call" option not working in the Frame Properties

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th January 2015, 03:26 AM
  2. Why is MMF runtime 10 times faster then Fusion runtime on Andy?
    By Outcast in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th January 2015, 07:40 PM
  3. Fusion 2.5 : differences entre fastloops et for each ?
    By BenjaminG in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th January 2014, 09:05 PM
  4. MMF2 Runtime Memory Inconsistency
    By Kid_Roleplay in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 03:08 AM
  5. Differences between MMF2 and MMF 1.5
    By andy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th July 2007, 04:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •