User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dynamic Array woes! Attempting to load a .csv file.

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Dynamic Array woes! Attempting to load a .csv file.

    For my current game, I'm looking to initialize all of the game objects' stats using an array created from a .csv file - and by its description, the Dynamic Array extension should be able to handle that happily. In its "Load From .CSV File" action I'm providing it with the fully qualified path to the .csv file (C:\blahblahblah\file.csv), and it doesn't crash, but it also doesn't import any data. The .csv file is definitely valid and not broken in any way. Any helpful tips? Is there any other documentation on the Dynamic Array object floating around out there?

    Also - hi everybody! Long time clickteam fan here, first time on the forums. =)

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You accidentally posted to the wrong forum section - this section is for extension developers to post their extensions, whereas you want technical support:
    http://community.clickteam.com/forums/331-Fusion-2-5

    How have you verified that no data is imported?

    Have you checked the built-in help? (Object properties -> about tab -> help button)
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heh, now it's obvious it's my first time here. Sorry about that. Any chance this could get moved to the correct forum?

    Anyway, I checked the built-in help and it's pretty thorough, but unfortunately doesn't seem to mention anything about the expected input for its Load From .CSV File action. The debugger (as well as a little text object I had targeting its row count) both claim it has 0 rows, and later events that only fire when there are more than 0 rows aren't firing.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just tested here, and loading a simple CSV file with contents "1,2,3" works when I test the size of the 1D array. Can you try to srip down your MFA to just the bare minimum to reproduce the issue (e.g. just the Dynamic Array object and no other objects) and upload it to your post? Use the forum post attachment feature, not an external upload site.
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    blurymind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Huddersfield, United Kingdom
    Posts
    493
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there is something that does that available at the click store:
    http://clickstore.clickteam.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=300

    would be nice to have a dedicated object that loads csv files though

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,937
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @blurymind I'm not sure how that is relevant? DoctorAxel wants to load an external CSV file and it isn't working, whereas the thing you linked is about loading internally store CSV files (which you really shouldn't be doing anyway)
    Working as fast as I can on Fusion 3

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator

    Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleMac Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Watertown, WI
    Posts
    4,334
    Mentioned
    49 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the file in Unicode ?
    Cause the Array for Text is in Unicode format.

Similar Threads

  1. LOAD/SAVE clone file in ARRAY FILE
    By daniele in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 24th July 2015, 01:47 AM
  2. load data file to array
    By mnovoa in forum Android Export Module 2.5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th January 2015, 02:29 PM
  3. Beta RC3- [BUG] Save & Load ini file to Array not functioning
    By Kisguri in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th January 2013, 08:44 PM
  4. How to use the binary array object to load file?
    By RGBreality in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th October 2011, 05:09 PM
  5. Binary Array Save/Load File gets it Wrong
    By dragonguy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 6th November 2008, 11:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •