User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Embedding an EXE Into Fusion App

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Embedding an EXE Into Fusion App

    I'm wanting to embed an EXE in to my application. I'm using the Special Object to do this. I have embedded the EXE in to my application as adding it to the Data Elements in the Binary Data tab. When it runs the "external" application, the application seems to pop out of my Fusion 2.5 application. I'm wanting it to appear as if the EXE is part of my actual app. I plan on using the Window settings to get rid of the File menu and so forth in my application.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MaciOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    advaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    1,325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why would you want to embed another EXE in your app?
    Did you make this other exe?

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did not create the initial EXE, but I have PLR (private label rights) access to it. The issue is that I receive emails when the software has an update, however, I'm looking to redistribute it as it's PLR. I'd rather have an actual update system. My idea is to embed the EXE in to my EXE, which will, for the most part, be a blank app, expcet that my app will also check for updates. That is, when updates for the software come out, I'll create an updated version, which will be accessible via the update feature. I'd rather do that then have users have to wait for an email for each new update. It would be more professional to have the software update itself.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MaciOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    advaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    1,325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So the other EXE updates your program, right?

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The EXE that the other EXE will be wrapped in will update the program. It's the only way I could think of to have the PLR EXE be able to be updated. Granted, I could contact the original EXE creator, but I don't believe they'd do this as it's sold as PLR. My option is to simply wrap the PLR EXE in to my own Fusion 2.5 EXE as I've developed my own updater using Fusion 2.5 Developer.

  6. #6
    Clicker

    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,729
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The Virus scanning programs are going to go nuts with a embedded exe.

    Marv
    ​458 TGF to CTF 2.5+ Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Marv, that is true. In fact, while working on the project and testing it, my AV, AVG, detected it as a suspicious file. For that I'll submit through Virus Total to get an idea which AV engines are picking it up as a false positive. I'll then submit a false positive report to the AV companies. I know that submitting it to the AV company is not guaranteed, however, it's the best I can do.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MaciOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    advaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    1,325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    By the way, how did you actually make an updater? I made a Check For Updates system, but not an actual updater.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 MacFusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    960
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've seen this question asked in the past. Unfortunately, it is very unlikely (or impossible) to embed another EXE you didn't create inside your Fusion application, unless it's been created with Fusion and exported as a CCN (external sub-application). The only way would be to let it run externally in its own window.

    Marv's spot on about antiviruses going mental. It's best to avoid an EXE that self-extracts another EXE. It'll need to be extracted either way to run, I believe.

    Since you're looking to protect the other EXE with your updater, you could consider encrypting the EXE and decrypting it to a temporary directory to run?

  10. #10
    Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator ProUnicode Add-on

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    628
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by nivram View Post
    The Virus scanning programs are going to go nuts with a embedded exe.

    Marv
    No if you know how to do it

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Embedding fonts
    By MJK in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th January 2011, 08:05 AM
  2. embedding on facebook
    By life2searching in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th October 2010, 10:43 AM
  3. Embedding a SWF
    By Digitalic in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th August 2010, 09:00 PM
  4. Please Help with embedding
    By Game_Master in forum Vitalize
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st January 2008, 11:38 AM
  5. Embedding an mp3?
    By UltimateWalrus in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st July 2006, 02:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •