User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: System object - run application problem.

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    System object - run application problem.

    Hi all

    I think my problem relates to the system object execute an external application but slightly indirectly i think.

    I am running an exe on an event that all triggers fine however the application gives an error saying that it can't find the files it uses in my applications directory.

    Is this because my application is trying to run it from my application's folder or is it that the application i'm trying to run has some way of checking where its being initialised from and tries to open files from there, as maybe some sort of copy protection or something?

    Is this familiar to anyone?

    I've asked the developers of the app as maybe there is a command i use on the exe or its a bug on their end or something.

    Thanks for reading.

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    DavidN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    4,044
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you run an application, it has a "working directory" that acts as its home - see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Working_directory for a full explanation. It sounds like what might be happening is that when you run the external application regularly, its working directory is set to the directory where the application resides (the usual way of doing it), but when you run it from the System object, it tries to run it with your application's folder as the working directory.

    Is setting the working directory an option in the System object?

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's exactly it thanks DavidN but unfortunately I can't set the working directory unless it's something I can pass to the exe as a command which I guess probably breaks some security thing in Windows if you know what I mean.

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,006
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Yes, this is possible. DavidN is correct, that is the issue here. I do know the answer as I figured this out before, let me jiggle my brains and get back to you!

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Danny you might just save my bacon!

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,006
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Come to the Click Chat!

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry I can't right now

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,006
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    No worries, there was just a few things I wanted you to try. Let me find one of my old projects to shed some more light. Might get to the morning mate...

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah ok, ordinarily i would've been free to join but couldn't sorry,

    If you want to pm me some things I'd love to give them a try, do you think I can pass a command to the exe maybe? Anyway I'll wait, thanks again for the interest!

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Mac Export Module
    Zem's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any luck? no rush just had a second to ask

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sub application object problem
    By ffomega in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd March 2014, 08:51 PM
  2. Problem with Active System Box and Application Alterable String
    By droberson in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd March 2013, 09:32 PM
  3. Making a Menu System Using the Sub-Application Object: Some Questions
    By BarcSsarc in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th May 2012, 09:28 PM
  4. Making a Menu System Using the Sub-Application Object: Some Questions
    By BarcSsarc in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th May 2012, 09:27 PM
  5. Button object with Sub-Application problem
    By ASD in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th May 2010, 04:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •