User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Out of Memory problem.

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Out of Memory problem.

    Hello CTF forums

    I've been having this problem for about 3 years now and I still haven't come any closer to a fix or answer as to why it happens or what is causing it. When building a game as a stand alone application after a few seconds it will display an "Out of Memory" error message and cancel. This same error also pops up after switching between frames of the game eventually causing to slow when loading it to where the frame will simply not load some assets to eventually not being able to do anything as the error keeps popping up.

    If anyone has any help or information on this matter it would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,642
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    The most common reason for this is that the assets within your game are simply too large. What sort of resolutions of image are you using, how big is the mfa file on the disk before you try to build it?

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The game file is about 181 MB large. There are quite a few large images in the game as drawn backdrops.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    jn2002dk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    One thing you should do with larger graphics is to make sure they are optimized by the power of 2

    http://www.katsbits.com/tutorials/te...wer-of-two.php

    If they are not optimized this way they can use quite a bit more memory than they need to

    Also, what format are your sound files?

    OGG is a great format due to it's small file size and because it's a free and open standard

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,642
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    This is good advice, however 181mb is not particularly large as it goes. I've seen people with mfas of multiple gigabytes before now. What sort of size are these large images for the backdrops?

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On the larger end of the image sizes is a backdrop approx. 12999 x 1379

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most level backgrounds are made in such a way that 3 or 2 of these backgrounds are arranged in such a way as to have a parralaxing effect. All on different layers

  8. #8
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,642
    Mentioned
    58 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    OK so that is a pretty large image to be using. I imagine that is what is causing the problem. Try removing some of the larger images and build. If the memory error goes away you'll know where the problem lies.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    arthurh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    916
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it is like you use an image of 16384 x 2048 px ! so try to change the dimension to 8192x1024 and use a Xscale/Yscale in the start of frame. you will divide by 4 the size of this image. In this example, xscale=1.587 and yscale=1.347.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At what point does a backdrop become "Too large" to realistically load consistently? Is there a specific size?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Memory Game : Pick'Memory
    By CrystalNoir in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th March 2012, 08:58 PM
  2. Memory Object - Additional Memory Types
    By Cudmuffin in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 11:43 AM
  3. Memory Object - Deallocate Memory??
    By LB in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st June 2011, 10:26 PM
  4. Memory?
    By FlinkGigitty in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd May 2011, 11:53 AM
  5. Bug: Infinite Loop & Memory problem
    By netninja in forum File Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th October 2008, 08:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •