User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Feature suggestion for Flags

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    schrodinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,155
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Feature suggestion for Flags

    (I've been hanging around this forum for a while now but I don't know if there's a better place for this kind of threads,
    so - sorry if this is misplaced!)


    I was thinking that a nice (and maybe easy to implement?) feature for Fusion
    could be having the chance to name internal flags of active objects,
    and "flag" them on/off from the frame editor
    just as we do with alterable values / strings.

    Thus allowing for a wide range of pre-selections for objects
    without need to "code" them in the event editor.

    Since I noticed I often use alterable values for this kind of jobs,
    and they are a little "wasted" for these yes/no tasks

    i.e. like:

    "is_movable"
    "collision_active"
    "is_enemy"
    "is_player"
    or such..

    And flags could be possibly a little faster too >> good practice using them instead of alt. values for boolean things

    And flags may be underused now due to their awkward traceability, this could make them more useful

    So I thought this could be a nice feature to implement in Fusion.

    Thanks for reading

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    2,112
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    named flags would solve a lot of debugging headaches. +1

    maybe for fusion 3, I'd like to be able to select an object in the event editor and filter to show only the lines where a given flag/value is used

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    PBarwick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wanted to edit my post, but it deleted it, so I'll repost it.

    I agree, I sometimes avoid using flags even though they may be more appropriate as a boolean switch, precisely because they aren't labelled. I know if I come back in a month or so and need another flag, I won't remember if I've already used one or not!

    I think this would make a good feature request on the bug box.

    I can see that being able to preset the flag to on or off would be useful but I can live without that - naming flags is the most important thing for me!

  4. #4
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also have come back to projects not knowing what the different flags are, or what ones i have used.
    Now i allways put a special colored 'comment' at the top of the Event Editor, stating something like:

    ObjectA
    Flag 0 = Object is stationary
    Flag 1 = Object has Item
    etc
    etc

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    +1 for naming flags in Fusion 2.5
    In Fusion 3 it would be nice to have the opportunity to create as many variables as needed, and determine their type (i.e. boolean, number, strings, etc.) according to their intended use.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    jn2002dk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This would be very nice

    It's very easy to lose track of what flags do what as it is now

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,006
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Pop it in the BugBox and see what kind of response you get...

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    schrodinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,155
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Filed in the bugbox:
    http://bugbox.clickteam.com/issues/3295

    Thank you for your replies and suggestion.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    chrilley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    917
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    This would be a huge time saver. I can't tell you how often I have to dig through tons of event lines just to figure out what my flags are for or when I pick an already used flag by mistake then wonder why my game suddenly broke.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    537
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I may have missed this completely but being able to activate a group based on a value would be great instead of having a bunch of value=1 start group 1 value= 2 start group 2 and so on. It would be nice to be able to activate them with only one event line. I checked but couldn't make an expression about how to activate groups. A small thing maybe but in rpg making you have a loooot of groups for the battles...well at least i do :-D

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Feature Suggestion
    By Gatesmi in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd April 2011, 07:06 PM
  2. New suggestion for Alterable flags/values/strings
    By uprize in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th July 2009, 10:28 AM
  3. Feature Suggestion
    By pirodaggar in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd June 2008, 05:58 PM
  4. Suggestion-global flags
    By falkon in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 09:54 AM
  5. Extension / Feature Request: Named Flags
    By Maverick in forum Extension Development
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th September 2006, 05:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •