User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can frames share objects?

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Can frames share objects?

    Hello, I'm very new to Multemedia Fusion as I used to program games for fun using the free version of game maker, but I wanted to be more serious and got Multemedia Fusion. What strikes me as a big difference is in game maker, it seems you'd first build sprites that went to an object that then went to a room, while here its backward. You make a frame (from what I can tell, it's the equivalent of a room) in which you create an object, and then give it sprites. My question is, do objects have to belong to one frame each or can I have the same object in multiple frames without duplicating the object type? Also, does the same apply to sprites? If I want two separate objects to have the same sprite, can they share the same sprite or would I have to duplicate it to go to each object? I'm sure this seems headbangingly simple to people that use this program but I am having a slightly rough time trying to rethink the way I go about making games. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Ziplock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    448
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not in 2.5. You'll need to duplicate them in each frame. A bit of a pain, but once you've duplicated the object, you can copy your code and it will match up. I seem to remember something about global objects being a possibility in 3.

  3. #3
    Clicker Firefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    koolbrosmk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    78
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1) You'll have to bring the object to multiple frames.
    2) Yes, same with sprites.
    3) Yes, you can have 2 objects with the same sprite. You can make another active and use that sprite.

    (p.s I'm not at my computer to check.)

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Fusion 2.5 MaciOS Export ModuleInstall Creator ProFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    advaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    1,324
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a Global Object button, which probably would help, it keeps the object properties the same in all frames (but you would still need to copy/paste it between frames at first). It you want to make the events the same too, you would want to use the Global event editor (Application properties> Events).
    Attached files Attached files

  5. #5
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In Fusion the notion of 'Sprites' doesnt work as it would traditionally.

    - You create 'Storyboard Frames'/ Levels/ Rooms, and insert Objects into these 'Storyboard Frames'.
    - An 'Active Object' has 'Animation Frames' which more or less relate to a traditional 'Sprite'. You can copy this AnimFrame/ Sprite from Active#1 to Active#2 for example, but it will count as an additional "sprite", in other words it will not simply re-use the same resource ( being the "sprite" in this case )
    - If you want to re-use sprite resources in this way, you could have a folder system on your computer containing the graphical sprites and load them dynamically into your Active Objects through coding ( Event Editor ), but this could be advanced and i wouldnt recomend it unless you feel confident/ comfotable. Someone else might elaborate more on this method as i have little experience with it.

    - You can make Objects 'Global' by checking a box in the objects properties. One of the main reason for doing this is to save space/ memory.

    Example:
    - You have 10 Levels and 1 large 'Tank Boss Enemy' ( not global ) in each Level ( say 200x200 pixels )
    - Your Application will store 10 200x200 'Tank Boss Enemies' taking up memory accordingly

    Example:
    - You have 10 Levels and 1 large 'Tank Boss Enemy' ( global ) in each Level ( say 200x200 pixels )
    - Your Application will store 1 200x200 'Tank Boss Enemiy' taking up memory accordingly

  6. #6
    Clicker Firefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you are using these global objects does anyone know if it's better to have one massive enemy object with all spirtes of all enemies vs. A bunch of active objects one per type of enemy which would only have the sprites for that particular enemy?

  7. #7
    Clicker Multimedia Fusion 2 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleFirefly 3D Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    King_Cool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess you would actuall gain by doing so, but i dont think the gain would be of any significance ( i might be wrong ).
    It would definitively complicate things though, potentially.

Similar Threads

  1. Export Objects to Other Frames
    By StoDaBest in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th April 2015, 12:11 AM
  2. Bad Files/Frames/Objects???
    By Warmachine in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th October 2013, 11:37 PM
  3. Trigger Event When Objects in Group Share Same Value
    By Sky in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5th June 2013, 11:18 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th April 2013, 12:17 PM
  5. Share Active objects across frames
    By Keith in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th August 2011, 04:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •