User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Blur effect for a pause menu

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Blur effect for a pause menu

    Hey guys,

    I've been looking to add a blur effect overlay to my pause menu to help draw the attention to the pause menu assets as oppose to the background. Does anyone know how to add an effect such as this to my scene so it appears once the pause menu is activated? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,159
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd also like to know this.

    I've tried applying shaders to a 1920x1080 object, but after trying all the blur shaders I have installed, I haven't found any suitable. Most (eg. Flavien Clermont's) only blur the active object, rather than the background.

    The closest I found were a couple by Looki that affect the background (BackgroundBlur & SelBgBlur). But they don't really blur the screen - but more of a double-vision effect (no matter the Coeff setting, you can still see things pretty clearly, and even read most text, it just feels like you're drunk. )

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    amiman99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just use a Black Active object wit 125 coefficient to reappear during pause.
    I use layers, so I put this object in the one before last last layer, when it appears it shades all layers behind it. The pause menu is nice and bright and everything else is darkened.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,159
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do that too, at the moment. Though a nice soft blur would look really great. Also, in some cases it might be beneficial to obscure what's on the screen, rather than just dimming it.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    J3sseM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use background blur shader and it works like a charm. Not sure how Volnaiskra is using it.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    KLiK-iT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,862
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use a 16x16 or less active in the color I want and place it in the upper left corner of the frame. Then use X and Y scale with semi-transparency. Works like a charm. You could also set all your actives when the filter is up to semi-transparency. Good effect. I use the 16x16 active filter sometimes as a flash the screen type effect for explosions too.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,159
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by J3sseM View Post
    I use background blur shader and it works like a charm. Not sure how Volnaiskra is using it.
    Well, it sorta works, but I guess it depends on what you want from the blur. If you want things to be totally obscured, or really nice and super soft, then it isn't as effective as it could be. It's an aesthetic preference mainly, I guess.

    see this screenshot: (http://i.imgur.com/8LjRX0k.jpg)



    -The "photoshop blur" shows the sort of blur I'd like to see - really soft and pretty, totally obscures all detail, and gives the eye absolutely nothing to focus on (ie. perfect for popup menus). I think in this case it's a Photoshop "Lens Blur", but a regular "Gaussian Blur" would achieve much the same effect. This style of blur seems fairly standard in games

    -Looki's "background blur" shader at 5.0 blurs things to some extent, but sharp lines are still present (albeit doubled a la drunk vision), detail can still be seen, and the eye is still drawn to particular sharp elements. It's almost like it duplicates the pixels rather than bleeding them together.

    -"Background Blur" continues to blur more as you increase the setting, but much higher than 5.0, and the distracting 'drunk vision' effect starts getting excessive (as can be seen in the 20.0 shot)

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    J3sseM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    868
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah I see what you mean, I've personally only used it to have a small blur effect.

  9. #9
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey, how i can download BackgroundBlur?

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,159
    Mentioned
    78 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    https://db.tt/M8enzyVa

    (it's in the folder called "Other")

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2 effect shader?? is it posable Blur's then Add effect
    By Darkseed in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2015, 04:31 AM
  2. Blur effect
    By ChrisBurrows in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th October 2012, 07:36 AM
  3. Blur the background with menu overlayed?
    By Ryan in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th February 2011, 01:06 PM
  4. re: How to achieve this blur effect
    By ClickerGuy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th February 2009, 07:08 PM
  5. Overlay Blur effect algorithm?
    By neat_Kliker2 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th August 2008, 12:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •