User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to limit install to 64 bit Windows only

  1. #1
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question How to limit install to 64 bit Windows only

    My app is 64 bit only and I'd like to limit installation of it to 64 bit Windows versions, how do I do this? E.g. when running the installer on a 32 bit OS an error message should appear. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yves, any help?

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,824
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I wonder if you can get a registry key to make sure they have 64 bit windows.
    Then you can display a custom error message that they need 64 bit windows.

    Look on the Options tab in Install Creator Pro.


    Maybe something here:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/556009
    or
    http://superuser.com/questions/29090...s-via-registry

  4. #4
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Jeff, but how do I enable this without the /A? My app is digital download and I cannot ask my customers to add /A. In fact lack of reading brings them into this situation in the first place

    PS: I am surprised this is not part of ICP as it is so common..

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,824
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Perhaps write a little script that actually launches your installer with the command line switches?

  6. #6
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,824
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Yves said to try this

    in the Options tab, if you set the "do not start the installer if .. the following file is not installed" box to #Windows#\SysWOW64\user32.dll, then the installer will display a message "Cannot install this program, a required file is missing" after the "choose a directory" screen (if the user's machine is 32 bit)

    as this file only exists on a 64-bit version of Windows

    you can change the text to "Cannot install this program on a 32-bit version of Windows" if you want (in the Miscellaneous text page, last text)






  7. #7
    Clicker Install Creator Pro

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you! Not perfect, but certainly better than nothing. I do hope you will consider making a new release one day. I'll gladly pay for it.

Similar Threads

  1. what is the file size limit for mp4s in windows?
    By SubWooferX3 in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th September 2015, 08:07 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th September 2014, 08:22 AM
  3. Max install limit reached with android exporter?
    By FrostyHorde in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd August 2014, 09:10 PM
  4. I've reached my android exporter install limit
    By Tuna in forum Android Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th June 2012, 04:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •