User Tag List

Thread: WIP 'newbies first adventure game'

Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

WIP 'newbies first adventure game'

Hi,

I'm a newbie to Fusion 2.5 and to games design/programming as a whole, but I've always been fascinated with the idea of creating a game, sadly at my age learning to code is just not going to happen hehe. anyway, I'm currently working on a very simple action-rpg game, think Atari 2600 Adventure crossed with Zelda A Link to the Past.

btw the title 'newbies first adventure game' refers to me, being a newbie to F2.5, its not an insult on any players. I'm not intending on selling (lol yeah right.. who in their right mind would buy something like this) or putting the game on a website. its purely a 'learn to use F2.5' experience for me.

I started off making it like Atari's classic 'Adventure' game (oh boy, I loved that so much) and here is what my first steps looked like:-

But then I started to change a few things and updated the graphics a little, to this:-

and then I changed some more things, added grass, animated flowers, key and working portcullis and a chalice to capture and she now looks like this:-

Currently all you do is move around (W- up, A- left, S- down, D- right) , collect the key to open the portcullis and steal the chalice and return to the 1st room with it. but you get the idea. yes its very very simple and very lame but hey.. I'm a dumb old guy who is learning at the speed of an asthmatic snail going uphill. but I'm having fun

If you want to try my game as-is, then there is a link to the zipped exe below. (note: I provide the exe as I am far FAR too ashamed of my event programming skills and if you saw my code you'd probably laugh. yeah I'm a chicken!)

build4.zip