User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HTML5 IF Internet connection drops, game STOPS working

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation HTML5 IF Internet connection drops, game STOPS working

    Hi,
    So I noticed this and thought it could be a major problem for building games with HTML5, and I was hoping there is a solution. I built a game and posted it online and it works quite well. Then I tested it on devices and it also works well unless you lose your WiFi signal (which happens frequently at the school I work at). If the WiFi drops or the Internet connection drops, it becomes impossible to go to the next frame of the application. The game basically freezes with no explanation for the user. I am hoping there is a way to load the entire game so that it isn't completely dependent on a continuous connection to the server (like how Flash operates still if you lose your connection). Is there a setting or something that can do this? If not, I can imagine users starting a game and having it unexpectedly freeze on them. At the least, it would be good to have a way of notifying the user that the connection dropped. Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks,
    Brett

  2. #2
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,822
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Look into the "Allow Offline" property to see if it solves it.
    I haven't tried it myself so report back on how it goes so we can look into it if its broken.


    Help says:

    Allow offline
    Allows the generation of an "appcache" file, saved beside the html file, that allows your application to work on the user's computer even if his machine is not connected to the Internet. All the sounds, images and data are cached in the browser cache file when the user plays your application for the first time, and will be used if the machine is not connected.
    We suggest you to enable this option only at the end of the development, when your game is complete.
    Note that, in order for this option to work, the mime type "text/cache-manifest" must be defined on your server for the files ending by ".appcache".

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Jeff,
    I saw this option but it is greyed out so I can't select it. Do you know why this might occur? How can I check it? I also tried "load all data at start" and this works fine on my desktop and laptop, but on my mobile devices it either won't load the game, or it causes very strange behavior, where a bunch of random graphics appear from the game on the first frame. Here is an example if you want to check it out: http://biomanbio.com/HTML5GamesandLa...html5page.html
    On my computers it looks fine but on my phone it shows a bunch of graphics of the main character and doesn't look anything like the opening frame. It's really bizarre. Do you have any ideas about this? Thanks,
    Brett

  4. #4
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,822
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    I am wondering if you just need to make the appcache file yourself and place it on your server.
    The help seems to indicate it just makes this file for you.

    I am asking some people about it but you can try that for now.
    Perhaps the building of the appcache file for your server hasn't been implimented yet.

  5. #5
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,822
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Yves said he had to turn this off -- So not sure you can get it to work just by making the file yourself.

    It was causing problems so you might need to use a different format if you have this issue
    Once I know more I will let you know.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok thanks Jeff,
    Please let me know. I was hoping to be able to use the HTML5 runtime to make my applications available for all types of devices but I keep running into weird problems. Is the HTML5 exporter still under development? Thanks,
    Brett

  7. #7
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Jeff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Battle Ground Washington
    Posts
    11,822
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Yes we should be having a nice update for it later this year.
    Not sure on the exact time but some work we are doing right now will benefit HTML5 when its complete.

    I need to research the appcache -- Still not sure if the HTML5 files or different or if its just different directives on the server.
    Haven't had a chance to speak with Yves about it.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Jeff,
    Please keep me updated on what you find out. Thanks,
    Brett

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    518
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Any update here?

    This still seems to be an issue when WiFi signals drop. Is there any solution to it yet? Thanks,
    Brett

Similar Threads

  1. Internet connection with database...
    By Sevennemesis in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th November 2012, 07:44 PM
  2. Game randomly stops working
    By Hazzow in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th July 2011, 07:43 PM
  3. Question about Internet connection
    By Lord_Wezel in forum Lacewing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th June 2011, 01:41 AM
  4. Checking if there is connection to the internet
    By JohnZ in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th May 2011, 11:48 AM
  5. internet connection status?
    By EasySite in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd February 2010, 07:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •