User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Physic speed value is affected by frame rate

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Physic speed value is affected by frame rate

    Changing the frame rate seems to have an affect on a physic objects 'Speed ( "Active" )'.
    It kind of screws up some things in my project if the frame rate drops, as I am basing some functions of 'Speed ( "Active" )'.

    Not sure if this is a bug?
    If not, can I use a different expression to take varying frame rate into consideration?

    Uploading mfa showing what I mean.
    Change the frame rate and pay attention to the counters that are highlighted in blue.

    frameRateTest.mfa

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They don't use delta time in the physics extensions for some reason (even though it's possible) - There is no way to make sure the physics simulates the same way with frame rate changes until they add this "feature".

    http://saltares.com/blog/games/fixin...gdx-and-box2d/ - for any Clickteam programmers reading this thread It is possible as shown in this example article.

  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    UltimateWalrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Using delta time for physics is never a good idea. Even the Unity engine which seems to revolve around a (flawed) variable timestep paradigm, still runs its physics on a fixed timestep. With variable timestep objects could easily go through walls and glitch out as their movement is extrapolated inconsistently. "Real" physics is kludgy and non-deterministic as it is, why make it worse?

    Checking "machine independent speed" in the application settings will run multiple updates to catch up when the drawing is slow. This gives you the best of both worlds --- your game will run on a fixed timestep, but it'll keep a similar speed when the framerate drops, it'll just look chunkier.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I want to limit the max speed of the physic objects, I do it like this: Active speed is greater than 30 = Set Active speed to 30.
    This breaks apart when fusion changes the way speed is defined based on frame rate. Can I limit the physic object speed some other way?

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know I can use pvelocity instead, that value seems constant between different frame rates, but pvelocity does not support conditions for individual instances and I would have to 'compare two general values'.
    Any suggestions?

  6. #6
    Clickteam Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    BartekB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can set an alterable value to pvelocity, and check the alterable value so you can check it for individual instances.
    - BartekB, a.k.a Uppernate
    Join the Click Converse Discord! - https://discord.gg/7RNXFrC
    Dungeon Raiders! - Link soon™

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator ProPatch Maker

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    528
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah of course, I didn't think of that :p Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Frame rate speed boost
    By ffomega in forum Fusion 2.5
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th October 2014, 07:10 AM
  2. Low Frame Rate at the beginning of the frame
    By LittleTinyBabyMan in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 6th June 2012, 11:54 AM
  3. Frame Rate
    By harrysgames in forum iOS Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd February 2012, 08:59 AM
  4. Variable Action Rate/Speed
    By dragonguy in forum Articles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd June 2011, 07:04 PM
  5. Frame Rate and Animation Speed
    By Mico in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th February 2008, 01:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •