User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help with moving platforms. (Using PMO)

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Help with moving platforms. (Using PMO)

    Hello. I am following the tutorial here: http://community.clickteam.com/threads/79240-Platform-Movement-Object-(PMO)-base-engine for moving platforms. I have the ones that move on the X axis, but how would I make it move on the Y axis. Let me rephrase, I did get it to move up and down, but my character goes right through it. Any help is appreciated! Thanks.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    2,117
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I made a PMO example for horizontal+vertical moving platforms here - http://community.clickteam.com/threads/94567-Kid-Icarus-Style-Game?highlight=kid+icarus

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I followed your example, but my character disappears now, when I go in game.
    Edit: It only seems to work when you have both platform types in 1 level. How can I only have the Y Pos platform by itself? Edit 2: I just realized you made "Area 52" for the game jam. I love that game. (I placed like 33rd or 32nd. )

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    2,117
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    haha thanks glad you liked it!

    Not sure what you mean, but maybe this trimmed down version will be easier for you to implement.
    Attached files Attached files

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    Wodjanoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    652
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, DaveC was faster. I also used his Kid Icarus example month ago to create moving platforms.
    (I didn't check your new example DaveC but I guess my example use the same trimmed down code).

    example2_DaveC_movingplatforms_PMO.mfa

  6. #6
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys. I got it working!
    Edit: Found a slight problem. My character "shakes" back and forth while on the platform.
    Edit 2: I found out that it is a problem with the scrolling. I did set window position at 0,0 relative to my character. But in turn, it makes him shake on the platform...
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/gb...tform_Test.mfa

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)
    Wodjanoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    652
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This has probably something to do with the order of your events. Especially if you use fastloops a bad order causes problems.

  8. #8
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think I have any fast loops except the code that Dave had in his example. I have it set to Always set center of screen to 0,0 relative to Player.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    DaveC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    2,117
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Easy fix - make sure the camera/scrolling events happen after you are moving the player on the moving platform - see attached:
    Attached files Attached files

  10. #10
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks so much!

Similar Threads

  1. Moving Platforms
    By PimeX in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd January 2011, 02:55 PM
  2. Moving Platforms
    By RickyRombo in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 8th June 2010, 03:38 AM
  3. Moving platforms with PMO
    By fodo in forum File Archive
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th December 2009, 02:19 PM
  4. Moving Platforms
    By KingToast in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 9th June 2009, 02:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •