User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Game doesn't properly fill window size when full screen.

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Game doesn't properly fill window size when full screen.

    Last update when running a game in full screen mode and having it upscale to a new resolution, it'd perfectly match the screen size without an issue. After the new update however - when I have a game run in full screen mode it's slightly off. This was a problem that seems to come and go with updates.

    My game runs at 640x360 so it should be able to upscale to 720 and 1080 properly but when the game is run in full screen it's off by 1 pixel vertically. Directly in the center of the frame vertically it's being stretched out by 1 pixel, squashing a pixel off the bottom of the frame and extending the length of one at the center by too much creating an inconsistent ugly result.

    How it should look: http://i.imgur.com/ObBiJVm.png
    How it looks: http://i.imgur.com/F0UZCmL.png

    You can see at the very center that the pattern is thrown off and looks jarring. Of course with aliased upscale you won't see this, but the game is using pixel art so we are not using smooth upscaling.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned
    133 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They added some new full screen features in one of the relatively recent updates. Have you tried fiddling with them? Maybe "change resolution mode"? Or maybe "fit inside with black bars" (that might give you a single line of black pixels at the top instead of a stretched line in the middle?)

    Alternatively, try the Ultimate Fullscreen Object


  3. #3
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunately it still happens no matter how I toggle any of those settings, even the black bars option.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So using change resolution, fit inside, keep screen ratio, almost all options available and toggling between them all does not have "resize display to fill window size" working properly. I'm on Windows 7 doing all of this so perhaps on later OSes it works more consistently although this is a recent issue I've had after the last update to the software where one pixel at the bottom is being shaved off and the middle of the screen is being stretched.

    This raises a concern just because the window size itself is properly double the size of the normal window yet it can't scale it properly, so future games I don't wish to run into this issue as well.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned
    133 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried using Ultimate Fullscreen Object? It's an alternative way to do all this stuff. It's not without its issues (I find it can introduce stuttering in some circumstances), but it also tends to make this fullscreen/aspect ratio stuff work pretty flawlessly out of the box. It has an option you can set in events to enable pixel perfect scaling for pixel art games like yours.

  6. #6
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did try using Ultimate Fullscreen and I unfortunately get the same result. I actually checked some games released that go full screen and it seems like it's a common thing that maybe people just didn't notice. I'd like to attribute it to my own PC but I've tested this on multiple machines and it's a similar problem on all of them.

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned
    133 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What games? I'd like to test it myself?

    Also, what resolution are you using? 1920x1080?

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 Developer

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The game I'm working on is running at 640x360 which should upscale to both 1280x720 and 1920x1080 in a crisp clean matter. Unfortunately, despite the game window running at those dimensions, on each PC I test this with it gets stretched incorrectly.

    Attached is the MFA and below is a link to the EXE. By pressing space bar it'll cycle through different window sizes.

    On most PCs I tried this the 2X, 3X, and full screen scalings are all off and act odd. Only one person who tested got a standard result on the normal window scalings but not when it was set to full screen.

    The issue seems to appear if you run through specifically NVIDIA's high performance graphics processing, but integrated doesn't cause it.

    [EXE File]
    Attached files Attached files

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned
    133 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here's something you can hopefully work with. Run the MFA and press X.

    On mine, it 'fixes' the problem, albeit with a few rows of blank pixels on the right and bottom edge. As you can see, the workaround works by manually overriding the resolution. This is something you'll probably have to hard code (ie. give your players set resolutions to choose from, rather than allowing the EXE to auto-adjust to any resolution)

    Considering the number of pixel art games made in Fusion, I'm surprised that this doesn't seem to be a much more well known issue. You're right, no matter which way you slice it, the native Fusion and UFO methods all have this problem. Consider reporting this in the Bug Tracker.

    In my testing of your MFA, I replaced your quick backdrops to an Active, which revealed a peculiarity of the problem: the final column/row of pixels never gets scaled, but only gets shown at 1px size. Even when there's room for it, as with this workaround version that I uploaded (note the purple perimeter, and how it's 1px thick at the right and bottom edges, followed by blank space). Weird.

    edit: I also changed the virtual width/height just to test, and forgot to change it back - I don't think it made a difference either way
    Attached files Attached files

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperFusion 2.5+ DLCiOS Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Julian82's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    outbuddies.com
    Posts
    990
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try the .mfa I posted in this thread, it´s a bit weird, but it works. It combines Ultimate fullscreen and Window control object. Lookis lens shader also needs to be present in the .mfa for some reason (it is not used, it´s just there), otherwise it won´t work proerly.

    http://community.clickteam.com/threads/98094-Creating-a-fullscreen-low-resolution-game-(QUESTION)/page3?highlight=full+screen+low+resolution+game

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Toggle "Resize display to fill window size" in game (Need help!)
    By fishrod in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th January 2014, 01:30 PM
  2. Resize display to fill window size
    By MJK in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th July 2012, 10:14 AM
  3. "Resize display to fill window size" doesn't work.
    By ASD in forum Hardware Accelerated Runtime
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th March 2009, 05:52 PM
  4. Resizing the display to fill window size
    By Kalnar in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th April 2008, 09:56 PM
  5. Resize display to fill window size...
    By Benicle in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2008, 12:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •