User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help With Pausing Animation

  1. #1
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Help With Pausing Animation

    So I'm trying to make a pause menu for my slots game. So what I'm doing is, I made an event for a button click and it will trigger the layer 1 to get hidden and will then show layer 2 which is the pause menu. Now the problem I'm having, is if someone clicks the spin button and then goes to the pause menu, I'm having trouble resuming the active object animation when they resume to the same frame it was when the player clicked the pause button. I've tried all kinds of things including stopping the animation, writing the current frame to an array and then when they resume I would set the animation frame value to the current value in my array and then start/restore the animation. Didn't work, it just shows the first frame of the animation it doesn't even start.. I've tried stopping it and starting after resuming, but what happens is the frame is the same as it was before they paused, but it is stuck when resuming even though I have it set to start/ restore the frame. I tried a couple of other wacky ideas, but still have come up empty. Any suggestions on how to fix this or any alternatives to do what I'm trying to do would be great. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    schrodinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,155
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Odd, it should work.
    Can you upload a file reproducing the issue?

    Simples way would be stop animation - start animation

    or:
    1) changing animation frame to (current animation frame of the object) --> changing animation frame "freezes" to the selected frame
    2) restore animation frame --> will restart the animation from the "freezed" frame

  3. #3
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I totally changed my way of doing it to see if I could do it another way. I decided to get rid of the layers idea and put the pause menu onto a new frame. Now I've set up everything correct I think, but I guess not, because now my spin button doesn't work and I am clueless as to why. I've been sitting here for 15 minutes going over everything and it all seems correct. How do I upload a file for people. Also if I do that, isn't it really risky because someone could steal my game and then finish it up and publish it before I do?

    EDIT: Okay, I fixed my button not working. Had to delete the savegame and it worked. And now as I'm typing this I just realized that I probably am saving an array with the wrong file name. Yep, just checked and it was saving as savegame instead of savegame 3, which is what it supposed to be. And I just checked, it didn't solve my spinner problem. When I resume from pause screen, it is sitting on the correct frame, but it won't resume the animation.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5Android Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    amiman99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't want to post your MMF file here with your game assets, try to create simple example of your problem and post that.

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export Module
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)
    schrodinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    3,155
    Mentioned
    27 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    ^ yes what amiman says, I was meaning that with "a file reproducing the issue"

    You can upload a file from going to "Go advanced" below, and clicking the attachment button
    (can't remember if you have to display a badge for that function, in case, click to community passport tab above, and register your product(s))
    you can also upload to online drives and link a reference here.

    Anyway, unless your game is in advanced stage, it's likely it won't be stealed, clickers here are fair guys
    and there are already lots of examples online, searching the forum people can find loads of free-to-use content
    (btw I made one for a slot not so long ago, if you are interested you can check it out)

  6. #6
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for all the handy tips guys, but hating myself right now. I managed to fix the problem, but I could have fixed this forever ago in like 2 minutes. For my event start frame I had it setting all my animations to stop, because without it they would always go forever. I fixed it by adding another start of frame but global value W also has to equal 0 for it to make them stop. Glad I fixed it though! Thanks for all your advice! One thing I would like to know though, is how do I save an array to a file when someone clicks on the red X button that closes the window?

  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Fusion 2.5+ DLC (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Volnaiskra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    www.sprykegame.com
    Posts
    1,954
    Mentioned
    51 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could try saving it on "end of frame" (I don't know if that works, but it might)

    Or you could not give them a red X in the first place (by disabling that stuff in the application options), and provide your own in-game method to close the game

  8. #8
    No Products Registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I figured out how to do it on my own. A bit complicated for beginners, but I put a global array in each of my frames and then added an event that said if "close window has been selected" it will set global value V to 1. Then in my global events, I set up a event that if global value V is equal to 1, then it will write all the save data to the arrays and save the files to the disk, as well as saying "end of application." Hope this helps people out if they come across this down the road, wondering the same thing I was!

Similar Threads

  1. Pausing Frames (Please help!)
    By TWGSB2014 in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th November 2014, 01:08 PM
  2. Sub-App Not Pausing.
    By Sinclairian in forum SWF/Flash Export Module Version 2.0
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd December 2013, 06:06 AM
  3. Game Pausing
    By HyperspazzMan in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 05:48 AM
  4. Applications Pausing
    By Felipe in forum File Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th October 2006, 12:08 PM
  5. no more "alt pausing"??
    By FormerTGFGuy in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 1st July 2006, 05:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •