Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Advanced Global Values Object

  1. #1
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,924

    Advanced Global Values Object

    This object was requested implicitly by Ryan here:
    http://community.clickteam.com/showthread.php?t=68752&p=510797&viewfull=1#post510 797

    This object allows you to have unlimited, grouped, named global values and strings. Its only improvements over the MMF2 global values system is that at runtime you can create new global values, at both run time and edit time the global values are grouped, and at edit time the values are arranged in alphabetical order.

    You create and remove global values via a text interface, and edit them there too or through their properties directly:


    Download: http://www.LB-Stuff.com/MMF2/Extensi...obalValues.zip

    I will port this to other runtimes if the community takes interest in it.

    Thanks to RickyRombo for his EDIF JSON Generator tool: http://community.clickteam.com/showthread.php?t=69006
    Thanks to Andos and Jamie for EDIF: http://community.clickteam.com/showthread.php?t=61692
    Last edited by LB; 5th February 2012 at 06:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperiOS Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Ryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,275
    Blog Entries
    3
    Very nice LB,

    I would love to beable to add more values by right clicking under that category (or having an 'add new variable button'), rather than have to edit the string box, and the same for categories, but you've achieved the main goal of sorting and grouping variables. Very good work.

    Also, a feature request would be nested groups, ie. you could have something like:

    Game values:
    --Started=1
    --Player values:
    ----Players=2
    --Enemy Values:
    ----Enemies=5
    Debug values:
    --Debug=0

    Bug:

    "Get global value / get global group" when retrieving data from the Advanced Global Values object seem to be duplicated. Menu currently displays:

    Values
    Get global value
    Get global value
    Get global group
    Get global group
    Count
    Retrieve fixed value
    Last edited by Ryan; 5th February 2012 at 06:53 AM.

  3. #3
    Clickteam Clickteam
    Danny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,734
    Blog Entries
    14
    This could prove interesting. Downloading now will post some feedback later.

  4. #4
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,924
    Thanks Ryan. While it is possible for me to have a button to add variables, and while it is also possible to have a rename option upon right click, actually choosing rename does nothing and as far as I can tell was designed only for the alterable and global values and wasn't intended for use by extensions. I am going to try and find a good subgroup syntax, because that seems a necessity for large projects. I've also fixed the expression menu for the next version

  5. #5
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleUniversal Windows Platform Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    nivram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bandon, Oregon
    Posts
    6,473
    Blog Entries
    8
    Thanks LB.

    Marv
    ​432 MMF2 & CTF 2.5 Examples and games
    http://www.castles-of-britain.com/mmf2examples.htm

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,504
    Very nice!
    _____________________________________________
    Nivram's Examples -Need extensions? Send me a PM.-


  7. #7
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,952
    Okay, dumb question. I know how to create a group using syntax Mygroup: but how do I actually add the values to be listed? Anything I add after that doesn't show up. Do I need a certain punctuation I'm not aware of? Anything I type after that is erased from the text editor.

    Edit: Nevermind I'm dumb lol. I forgot the equal sign.

  8. #8
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleInstall Creator Pro
    Fusion 2.5 (Steam)Fusion 2.5 Developer (Steam)Android Export Module (Steam)HTML5 Export Module (Steam)iOS Export Module (Steam)Universal Windows Platform Export Module (Steam)
    Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,952
    That is pretty handy! Is it possible to have an expression editor like how you compare regular global values in the event editor? Typing it out works, but could speed up work flow a lot.

  9. #9
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleSWF Export Module
    LB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Richardson, Texas, North America
    Posts
    8,924
    I could modify EDIF to allow the comparison parameter, but I don't think MMF2 will compare floating point values with it. I'll have to ask Yves/Francois if the comparison parameter can work with floats. Having to type in the comparison operator was a temporary workaround just so that it at least LOOKED nice in the condition text.

  10. #10
    Clicker Fusion 2.5 DeveloperAndroid Export ModuleHTML5 Export ModuleiOS Export ModuleSWF Export ModuleXNA Export ModuleUnicode Add-on
    Fanotherpg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
    Posts
    3,666
    Blog Entries
    6
    I would love it in other runtimes :< But it seems I'm dumb with it.

    I can't get any values out of it.
    Last edited by Fanotherpg; 5th February 2012 at 07:57 PM.
    End is near.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Question about Global Values for Multiple-Powerup-Object
    By vSv in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 05:34 PM
  2. Global Values & Alterable Values with same names
    By Gustav in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7th November 2012, 06:15 PM
  3. [BUG] Active object as Global: Values are blank
    By aidmm in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16th August 2008, 08:33 PM
  4. Negative values in a List, and Global Values
    By aidmm in forum Multimedia Fusion 2 - Technical Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th January 2007, 06:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •